… from the bungalow

I Believe…

18 Comments

Staying true to our beliefs is sometimes difficult, but it helps to state them clearly. Write them down, read them, feel them. Here are a few of mine:

I believe in equal access to education.

I believe in equal human rights, including freedom to love who we love without persecution, with equal access to the legal benefits of marriage.

I believe in unconditional human regard, including the individual’s right to be treated with the same dignity and respect as every other individual.

I believe in blurring and blending gender roles and notions of gender identity.

I believe in the power of creativity and fiction to broaden understanding and enhance reality.

I believe in the marriage of science and spirituality.

I believe in connections and friendship.

I believe in the power of kindness and empathy to change lives, especially the lives of those who practice kindness and empathy towards others.

I believe in the profundity of simplicity, the substantiality of subtlety, and the magnitude of quietude.

Chris

What do you believe? Let’s keep this list growing, shall we?

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

18 thoughts on “I Believe…

  1. Thanks for your list, Chris. I believe in most of the same things. I would highlight racial justice with your human rights. I believe it is my responsibility to try to end discrimination based on race which still pervades aspects of our lives in this country and in my town.

    • Absolutely, that falls within equal human rights! I had a friend once tell me (and it stuck) that establishing equal human rights is the responsibility of all humans, and I couldn’t agree more.

  2. I believe we should spend less time texting and more time talking, less time on the computer and more time playing withour children, less time indoors and more time outdoors (although I know in California this is much easier than in other states!), less time criticizing and more time complimenting, less time in bitterness and more time in love. Thanks for the reminder to contemplate our beliefs. Hugs and gratitude, SWM.♥

  3. Well put! It’s hard to argue any of these beliefs.

  4. I love this. Also, there’s a chapter in Just One Thing about saying “yes.” I couldn’t believe how much better I felt after reading a chapter full of the word “yes.” Reading this had the same impact on me: a sense of joy, of possibility, of the goodness of believing positive things and wishing others well. Love it, and love to see you posting again!

    • Thank you, Deb! I’m so glad to see your comments here, and I’m looking forward to reading more of that book. I’m also really pleased that this had such an impact on you. This felt like a very simplistic, unsophisticated post, and I considered keeping it to myself, so I’m glad it resonated with you.

  5. I like all of these, but ‘Marriage of science and spirituality’ is my favorite. Well said.

    • Thanks! When I wrote that, I was specifically thinking of the awe-struck wonder and love I feel when I think about the vastness of the universe. “We are star stuff” and all that. Amazing.

  6. Love the last line, and the list is beautiful.

  7. I believe in justice and the need to extend it and correct our current system to expand it to all our members.

    I believe in the power of touch, the power of simple hugs.

    Other than that, I love your list. Thank you.

  8. I believe that while I may create my own destiny, it’s not all me.

  9. I believe in the importance of really listening to others and that a simple kind gesture can make a big difference. Your post gets straight to the point, bravo.

Reply away!

