… from the bungalow

Stop waiting.

9 Comments

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about waiting; waiting until I’ve had more experience, waiting until I’ve received more education, waiting until I’ve “made it.” Waiting is the enemy of presence. When we wait, we check out from the present and place responsibility in the hands of our future selves, who are powerless to act right now. This isn’t Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure.

I want to reiterate because I somehow lose track of this concept: Any future instance of myself is powerless to act in the here and now because he does not yet exist. Likewise, holding onto the past is useless to me now because that instance of myself no longer exists. All of my past thoughts and actions have brought me to here and now, sure, but it’s done. What I’m left with is this moment.

This moment.

If this moment is all that exists, then there is no reason to wait for anything. I no longer have any reason not to focus my attention to my current thoughts and actions, with the intention of making them the best thoughts and actions.

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with one step." ~Lao-Tzu

I’m done saying, “I’ll just make it to March.” March will come. Today is here.

I’m done saying, “I’m not (experienced, good, smart) enough.” I am enough. I am here.

You are enough, too. Stop waiting.

Chris

None of this means we shouldn’t plan or have goals, but as Lao-Tzu said, “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” What step are you taking today?

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

9 thoughts on “Stop waiting.

  1. Great post. Timely.

  2. I shoveled the driveway and sidewalk. šŸ˜‰
    Just kidding. I mean, I did shovel, but I didn’t want to just leave a silly comment like that. Good post, love. xoxo

    • Thanks for shoveling the walk, Wife. Not exactly the kind of step I was thinking of, but a totally valid step. You’re silly. Thanks for the compliment.

  3. Lovely. I literally spent a year telling my husband to hold off on getting a gym membership. I wanted to wait to join once I’d lost some weight šŸ™‚ Made perfect sense to me at the time, all that waiting.

  4. Oh, geez. It’s possible I love this even more than your last post. Yes. Yes, yes, and more yes.

    Sometimes I watch Li’l D and wonder how I’d be without him–what it’d be like to lose him. I think two things: (1) that might be then, but in this right now, we are together and it’s beautiful and (2) to him, it’s irrelevant; what matters is this right now, and in this right now, he is almost always happy. I am trying to be more like that.

    • I know how sometimes the mind can wander to dark places, and It’s OK to want to prepare ourselves for potentially bad scenarios, but you’re right about staying in the moment with him. I’m making an effort to be more happy more often. šŸ™‚

  5. Awesome post, I had to learn the process of living in the NOW the most difficult way: Through a hellish experience that made me question everything I believed in and thought of. I don’t question now, I just do! you can only beat yourself up for so long. I was so glad to read your post and know I’m not alone. Thanks!

Reply away!

