… from the bungalow

Oh, the pressure! A quick update.

20 Comments

I haven’t blogged in so long. I think about blogging every day (literally), and the stakes seem to rise higher and higher with each non-writing day that passes.

I’ll be honest; I miss it.

Saying “I’m back” doesn’t help, either. It only adds to the feeling that the next post had better be… better. Greater. More.

So I’m writing tonight simply to take action. Maybe I can lower the stakes a bit. There are so many things I want to write about, and I never seem to make the time to do it. In all fairness, I’ve had some life changes lately. I started a new job, which is awesome, but stressful nonetheless. Just prior to that, my mom (55) was diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease). The prognosis isn’t great. And right before that, my mom’s mom passed away fairly quickly from ovarian cancer and related complications. And of course, right before that, my parents’ house burned down, and they blew a tire on their drive home to see the wreckage. Needless to say, the past few months have been stressful.

At any rate, those are the highlights. Now that I’m a judge in this year’s Blogger Idol competition, I’m getting my head around writing again. I’ve got plans for the weeks to come, and I really want to follow through with them. Speaking of which… Would you do me a huge favor? Will you join me on Facebook and remind me every now and then (like, daily) to work on new blog posts? I’d appreciate it!

Here are some of the things I’m working on for September and October:

  • Book giveaways (autographed)
  • Podcast interviews with authors
  • St. Baldrick’s follow-up post (six months later!)

As always, thanks for reading. I really do appreciate you.

P.S. Don’t forget to join me on Facebook and/or Twitter!

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

20 thoughts on “Oh, the pressure! A quick update.

  1. i’ll remind you if you’ll remind me. deal?

  2. It’s so hard to get back in the habit when you get out of the habit. Writing consistently is something I struggle with. I’ll send you the occasional poke if you do the same for me. 🙂

  3. You can do it! I made a public challenge of how many days in a row I was going to do a post and it has helped me get something up each day for the last month 🙂 Looking forward to your upcoming posts!

  4. Had read a bunch of your old posts and was hoping you’d start writing again. We all need kicks from time to time though.

  5. When life gets busy and stressful is often when I pull back from writing and, in many ways,that’s when I need to write the most.That is some crazy stress you’ve been under and the fact that you popped in here to even update your world of readers shows your strength, resilience and dedication to your writing. And, you’ve offered me (and I’m sure many others) a truck load of inspiration to keep going and get writing. I’ll be watching for your posts and when I don’t see them, I’ll come knocking. All the best to you, Chris!

  6. Nice. What would your writing look like if you did not feel heavy about not or doing it?

    • I think that’s the problem, Erich. I think it would be boring. I never want to write a boring post. I’m sure someone has been bored by my posts, but I never want to sacrifice quality for quantity. I’ve said before that I can find balance between those two things, but I usually psych myself out.

  7. I love this approach! Better to post something and remind yourself not every post has to be a masterpiece (few, indeed, will attain that level!) than to let the silence linger. Well, that’s from this reader’s perspective, anyway. I’m glad to see you back and I have fingers crossed I’ll be seeing more of you shortly. Pretty please?

    Also, I hope things quiet down for your soon, and that when they’re not quiet, they’re largely good.

    • Thanks so much, Deb. This means a lot to me. I do have every intention of following through with my writing plans. I need more accountability measures. Thanks for being one of my readers! I’m honored, as always.

  8. awww sweetie….take the time you need to heal and grieve all these major upheavals in your life….we’ll all still be here! that being said it good to have goals and that you miss your writing….take care ((hug))

    • Thank you so much, L. And how did I not subscribe to your blog before now? I’m so glad you commented. You have a beautiful blog, and I love the work you’re doing. Honored to have you here.

  9. wow!!! you have a lot going on … thanks for checking in

  10. Chris, I don’t know how I missed this check-in post, but I, as I’m sure many others, completely relate to needing to take a hiatus to handle matters. And, so much you have had to handle, indeed. Bloggers unite, you know? I see it over and over when one of us “disappears” for awhile. Our return is greeted with open arms, well wishes, and encouragement. The best bloggers (you being one of them for certain) have a constituency that will stick around, for better or for worse. When life happens, we have to deal with it…writing should be therapy, a release, a positive element that helps us, not stresses us further. So, with that I will say, I concur with the other comments, and I always love and appreciate your honesty, which is why I keep coming back! Take care of you and and yours, and we’ll be ready for the next post (and the book giveaway…so cool…Maycee has asked me many-a-time, “Why do they make fancy underpants?” LOL). 🙂 XOXO-SWM

    • Thanks, SWM! You’re so right. I started this blog as a creative outlet and I’d like to keep it that way. Every time I think about writing for some outside entity, no matter how small the reference, I come down with the block. But I’m starting to catch my breath, so to speak, and I’m looking forward to writing more for myself. 🙂

Reply away!

