… from the bungalow

12 days that amaze, Day 12: It’s go time!

6 Comments

This is the twelfth of 12 “amazing” installments of “12 days that amaze.” I am pushing myself to write 12 posts about things that amaze me leading up to the St. Baldrick’s Foundation fundraiser in Chicago that Karin, Deb and I are participating in. In doing so, I must also be open to the everyday amazing things that happen around me.


This was supposed to go up last night, but I’m in Chicago with friends, getting ready to have my head shaved. This will be a short post.

My nervousness over giving up my hair had subsided over the last couple of days, but now that the day is here, my stomach is in knots all over again. But there are a couple of things that make it all OK. Meeting up with a friend who was until now been an online friend only and having it be pretty much exactly as you imagined helps calm the nerves. (Thanks, Deb!)

Reminding myself why we’re doing this helps even more. I’ll be in the midst of amazing, caring folks. I’m trying not to set my expectations too high, but I can’t imagine this resulting in anything but transcendental, epic awesomeness. In short, amazing.

Too high?

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

6 thoughts on “12 days that amaze, Day 12: It’s go time!

  1. The day is here!!! I’ll be thinking of you all today. 🙂 Have fun and I’m so excited that your meet ups are going exactly as planned and imagined.

    Have tons of fun!
    Currie

  2. I can’t even imagine how it must feel for the people you are doing this for. To look around at people who give up more than “hair”. God bless!

  3. “Too high?”

    I don’t think so. ♥ ♥

  4. Your boys are being very good and are enjoyingl themselves!

  5. Wow, it is so cool to see you and Deb together. I’m thinking of you guys today!-SWM♥♥

    • This! Looking at this picture from back in my apartment in L.A., this just totally makes up for Li’l D’s total lack of interest in me upon my return tonight.

      Such a great trip, in such great company. You and Karin rock so hard. (I’d wax more eloquent, but darn, I am tired!)

Reply away!

