… from the bungalow

12 days that amaze, Day 1: TMiYC

20 Comments

The Baldman Cometh

As many of you know, Karin and I will be getting our heads shaved to stand in solidarity with kids fighting cancer and to raise money for St. Baldrick’s Foundation on March 24th. Twelve days from now!

It’s all be cause of Donna, which you can read about here. (Don’t want to read the whole thing? There’s also a podcast version at that link.) As of right now, our team has raised $1,790! Some of those donations came from you guys, so thanks for that!

Side Effects May Include

What has amazed me is the residual joy and personal satisfaction that has come out of being involved in this event. As it turns out, this sort of thing has side effects. Signing up as a shavee, sharing info with others, writing about it as part of a Valentine’s Day blogging event, and every other aspect of participating in a St. Baldrick’s event has brought me ridiculous amounts of happiness.

And THAT is the purpose of this post: to share something amazing with you today. In fact, I plan to share something amazing each day (which may or may not pertain specifically to–but is certainly a side effect of–St. Baldrick’s) leading up to and including the main event. (We’ll see how I do with that!)

The (Amazing) Monster in Your Closet

In amazes me that any woman would willingly shave her head. I want to discuss three briefly. My friend Amanda does it now and then voluntarily as an act of freedom (as I understand it). My wife, Karin, has been on board with this all along, and is one of the biggest reasons we’ve raised so much money on team Blissfully Bald. I am in awe of these women.

the monster in your closetThe third amazing woman I want to highlight today is Deborah Bryan, blogger at The Monster in Your Closet and young adult author of The Monster’s Daughter. Not only has she been our top donor–even promising matching donations if her readers’ give–but this morning, she decided to sign up as a shavee on team Blissfully Bald!

Here is a woman who I know full-well would love to live in a house with a yard and a unicorn, yet she’s putting up her own money, time away from her family, AND her hair for St. Baldrick’s. That is awe-inspiring.

It’s Not Too Late

There’s your dose of amazing for the day! Again, thank you to each of you who has donated already. If you haven’t, please visit our team page or Deb’s page to help us with our goal of $2500.

Chris

P.S. Writing takes time and effort. If this post made you feel good, show me that you appreciate my writing with a donation to St. Baldrick’s Foundation. Any amount will do! Thank you!

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

20 thoughts on “12 days that amaze, Day 1: TMiYC

  1. What can I say? You and Karin are an inspiration, and not just for the dampness suddenly located in the region of my eyeballs. ♥

    • Inspiration begets inspiration. Donna started this whole thing by living her life. Sheila survived the trauma and wrote about it, Karin read it and shared it, and so on. I’m just another willing participant in the creation of good things. 🙂 Thanks for being a part of it with me.

    • Oh my gosh. Ya’ll are just incredible. Truly. I’m off to donate, since it just occured to me I haven’t yet (DOH!)!

  2. What an amazing trio the THREE of you make!

  3. I loved today’s post. What you and Karin are doing for a little girl you never knew is so inspiring. Having gone through cancer treatments with my mother-in-law, who I loved very much, I know how much it SUCKS! I hate to think of a child dealing with the same thing. I know you two will exceed your goal! Good luck to you both!

    • Thanks, Julie! I’m sorry your mother-in-law went through that, and that you had to experience her illness at her side.

      And it’s three of us now! 😉

  4. Hello,

    My name is Beth and I’m not really sure how I came across your blog but I’ve been keeping up with it lately. I was diagnosed with a rare brain tumor in September 2011 and (long story short) its inoperable and doesn’t respond to chemo. I finished proton radiation (experimental for my tumor type) in December and started to lose my hair. I decided to shave the rest of my head so that I wouldn’t just have bald spots.

    I just wanted to say thanks for standing up for the right team and what you are doing makes a difference! It’s nice to know there are people out there who understand and don’t judge me because I have short hair. You’d be surprised how many people just don’t understand.

    You can check out my blog at bethfightsback.com if you want.

    Have a great day!

    -Beth

    • Thanks for your note, Beth. I’m sorry for what you’re going through. I can’t begin to imagine what you’re experiencing. I will definitely check out your blog.

      Thanks for your kind words, and for talking about your diagnosis in a public forum. I’m looking forward to reading more when I have a chance.

  5. It has been so incredibly exciting for me to watch you and Karin prepare for this! I have been a big fan of St. Baldrick’s for many years, and it makes my heart sing when I see such a beautiful, positive energy surrounding this event! I know that I’m just cheering from the sidelines, but I too cried when I saw that Deb volunteered to be a shavee!

    Thank you for mentioning me in your blog 🙂 You got it right…I shave my head to not only humble myself, but to learn to focus my thoughts and actions on others…not just me. It’s a very healing experience, and I’m sure that you, Karin and Deb will feel what I’m speaking of in just 12 short days from now!

    You guys amaze me with each word that escapes your fingers, and with each selfless choice that you make…St. Baldrick’s, the Donna dance and all. I am so honored that you have crossed my path!

    PS! Are you guys going to show us photos and or video of the event?

  6. Okay, not that I wasn’t going to donate anyway, but now I have a dilemma .. do I divide it by three so that you all feel the love?? 🙂 Or will it ripple through all of you no matter where I throw my pebble?

    • Definitely a ripple. And as long as each individual raises at least $100, they get a T-shirt. Since this post is in direct response to Deb’s joining our team, feel free to donate directly to her! It all counts on the team level, anyway. 😉 Thanks so much!

  7. Pingback: 12 days that amaze, Day 2: My singing, dancing robot son | … from the bungalow

  8. Pingback: 12 days that amaze, Day 3: I keep good company. | … from the bungalow

  9. Pingback: The ripples of your actions. | Transitioning Mom

  10. Pingback: 12 days that amaze, Day 4: Baby steps | … from the bungalow

  11. Pingback: 12 days that amaze, Day 5: My family ecosystem | … from the bungalow

Reply away!

