… from the bungalow

My Favorite Post from Writing Challenge #1

7 Comments

Last week I posed a writing challenge to all of you with the intention of encouraging meaningful, personal writing, and I am thrilled with the turn-out. There were so many good posts, and I was introduced to a few new songs. There were also two people who were on the verge of starting a blog and made this their first post. I feel really honored to be a part of that!

Each post had its merits, and I would encourage everyone to continue writing! And while I enjoyed all of the posts, there were two that really stood out to me. But I said I’d reblog my favorite one today, so I had to choose. (Honorable mention goes to Daddy Knows Less! And visit this link for a full list of all 15 linked posts.) For one blogger, not only was this her first post, but she nailed it. She personally related to her song choice so well and offered interpretation, but the real tie breaker was that she had one of the most poignant lines (to me) out of all of the posts.

I kinda want this on a plaque in my kitchen.

Introducing… 50 sense blog. Visit her blog and leave her a comment, will ya? Thank you to everyone who participated! Now what should I do for my next challenge?…

50senseblog

i first heard this song several years after it was recorded by michael stipe and chris martin for a hurricane katrina benefit. the first few notes made me look up from my solitaire game to see what it was (how i loved the satellite radio for that feature!). the sun was shining over the sea of cortez, yet i was playing cards at the kitchen table. because that’s what i do when i’m there. i’m outside all the time at home, so having the luxury of staying inside is my kind of vacation! after those few notes, michael stipe began singing “i picture you in the sun, wondering what went wrong. and falling down on your knees, asking for sympathy. and being caught in between all you wish for and all you’ve seen. and trying to find anything you can feel that you can believe in.”

the poignancy of those…

View original post 528 more words

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

7 thoughts on “My Favorite Post from Writing Challenge #1

  1. i have no words. which is probably not a good thing for someone who aspires to write. thank you so much, chris. just thank you.

  2. So glad 50sense is on the blogosphere and that you linked to her here! Thanks for sharing, Chris!

  3. Thanks, brother. Was a lot of fun. Great post by 50 sense and I’m glad I an now follow her thanks to this.

    I know the response to this was excellent enoug for you to continue these challenges. But if you needed another reason,check out Mama Spaghetti’s post in response to mine.

    http://spaghettiwesterner.blogspot.com/2012/03/damn-you-friends-why-do-you-always-have.html?showComment=1331158334331#c1925838554873004538

    There is some crazy karma thing happening here involving taking opportunities and seizing upon them, and keeping people you admire close (even though you’ve never ‘met’ them.) Her response, and yours, made this so worth doing..

    Who knew?

    • Who knew? Indeed.

      And to think the whole reason I thought to hold this challenge was because Mary Tyler Mom asked for a writing prompt, to which I replied, “Write about a song that you have a connection with.” Or something to that effect.

      One thought leads to another which leads to another… and we’re all connected. We’re co-conspirators in carving out better lives for ourselves. It blows my mind when I think about all the little things that had to happen to lead me to writing this comment, right here and now. It re-affirms my belief that life is magical.

      Thanks for being a part of that with me.

    • taking opportunities and seizing upon them, and keeping people you admire close

      Yes! The opportunities will always present themselves. It’s not only a matter of noticing them, but taking action. I acted on a whim, but more and more I’m realizing that’s often the most effective way to act.

Reply away!

