… from the bungalow

Writing Challenge: Musical affinity

59 Comments

writing challenge ftb: musical affinityAlthough a songwriter/composer often writes songs from a specific “place,” lyrics are open to individual interpretation. We have different experiences and perspectives, and we impose those on music like a filter. In a post entitled I’ll Know My Name As It’s Called Again,  I shared the Mumford & Sons song “The Cave” and spoke about how it resonated with me in my thinking about depression.

Let’s try something new here. As music is a big part of my life and so many other folks’ lives, and because I have a large blogger readership, I present you with a challenge. The purpose is threefold:

  1. To encourage thoughtful, meaningful writing
  2. To share good music
  3. To introduce readers to new or “new-to-you” blogs

The challenge: I want you to write a musical affinity post. Choose a song or piece of music that you love; one that resonates with you or with which you strongly associate a particular feeling, time, or place. It can be from any period in your life, including today. Write about what the song means to you. This is open to interpretation, but here are some suggested talking points:

  • Where were you when you first heard it? Be descriptive.
  • How do the lyrics pertain to you, an experience you’ve had, or something you’ve struggled with?
  • How does the songwriter use words to effectively convey feeling, imagery, etc.?
  • If your association with a particular song is a “bad” one, have you faced it head on or do you avoid the song?

The guidelines: Let’s keep this simple.

  1. Write your post and publish it on your blog* by 11:59:59 p.m. on Tuesday, March 6, 2012, with a link to the song (if possible). You may also wish to include some or all of the lyrics to the song.
  2. Include a link to this post so your readers know that you’ve taken this challenge and can find similar posts.
  3. Leave a comment below, providing me with a link to your post, and I’ll include it in a separate listing of all of the posts in this challenge. Readers are encouraged to leave comments about which ones they enjoyed the most!

The prize: Well, since this isn’t so much a contest as it is a challenge, the prize is also simple; the satisfaction of having written a personal, meaningful post, and increased traffic to your blog. I’ll also reblog my favorite one with an introduction next Wednesday (3/7/12).

This should be fun! I’m looking forward to what you come up with, if you choose to accept the challenge. I hope you will.

Let me know if you have any questions (or suggestions!), and happy listening/writing!

*If you don’t have a blog and you’d like to be a part of this challenge, I would encourage you to start one! It’s free and (fairly) easy to get one up and running. I’ve had experience with WordPress.com (obviously) and Blogger.com, and they each have their strengths. If you’d prefer not to start your own blog, submit your post in a comment below or send me an email message!

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

59 thoughts on “Writing Challenge: Musical affinity

  1. Dang. Now I hafta come up with just one song to write about. This is gonna be tough. Great idea, love.

  2. I’m just going to have to repeat what Karin said. …. right down to the “Great idea, love.” 😉

    • Mary! You started a blog and accepted this challenge as your first post?! How totally rad. Today we welcome into the blogosphere a new writer. What a great way to start out this challenge. I left a comment about your song choice on your blog post. 🙂

      • I set it up the other day, but your challenge was a push for me to actually do something with it, so thank you for that! And thank you for reading it, I am honored! I couldn’t find your comment anywhere : (

        • Can’t see it, huh? I thought it said my comment was awaiting moderation. I’m not a fan of Blogger’s comment system. I’ve lost more comments on Blogger hosted blogs… I basically said it was a great song choice, and that I’ve had some experience with that song, even though I’m not much of a country fan. Way to start things off! 🙂

  3. I’m in! I link to this post from my blog, right? Hope I can figure it out! thanks Chris. Great idea.

  4. Ok… I’m in.

    But I’ve done something similar before at least 4 times. I’ll share just one link though. it involves the significance of The Who: http://daddyknowsless.blogspot.com/2011/11/peanut-hears-who.html

    #CommentDay

  5. I do a new post for Tuesday, though.

  6. ok this project made me cry…
    I knew exactly what song but I couldn’t remember the artist… so I searched and searched – I thought it was Bruno Mars at first then did a “love songs 2012” search on google and FOUND IT!
    Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up.
    http://emmajewel.blogspot.com/2012/03/i-wont-give-up-on-us-even-if-skies-get.html

    • Awesome! I’m glad you’re participating. I’ll link up your post now. Looking forward to reading it, Em!

    • OK, Captcha or whatever isn’t working again. Here was the comment I was going to leave on your blog:
      What a beautiful song, and nicely written.

      I was inspired at first by the contest – I’ve listened to this song now almost 12 times, it’s not even about the contest anymore…

      Yes! One of the main reasons behind the challenge was to promote personal, meaningful writing. Thanks for playing along. The song made me cry, too.

  7. With frozen fingers, I wrote this. I keep finding spelling errors, I believe from having frozen fingers… but I thought this was a great idea and was totally inspired to complete it today. 🙂

    http://www.currierose.wordpress.com

  8. Okay… here is my post…you may need tissues. (Or maybe that’s just me)

    http://www.ifonlyshehadappliedherself.com/2012/03/rose.html

    • And what an excellent blog post it was. I know it’s nerve racking at first, but fear not. You knocked it out of the park. Thanks for playing along. 🙂

  9. Lots of fun. Awesome! I’m in. Now, to write…

  10. Pingback: Response to a musical challenge: It is exactly what it was like. « The Loneliness of the Stay-at-Home-Mother

  11. Not that well written, and truthfully, it’s not the greatest story, but at least it’s a story. And it was that or Teenagers by My Chemical Romance being sung in girls changing rooms. http://theemptycorner.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/blue-skies/

  12. Okay. I did it. I actually wrote this years ago for a narrative writing class. I’m glad to dust it off and show it to the sun.

    http://incompetenthausfrau.blogspot.com/2012/03/croce-timeship.html

  13. Pingback: Croce Timeship | theincompetenthausfrau

  14. Pingback: The Time is Now! – Musical Affinity Writing Challenge « Illuminoted

  15. I haven’t “blogged” in a long, long, time, but I thought this was a worthy endeavor. Thank you for the inspiration..

  16. Pingback: Hard to say I’m sorry | The Twisting Kaleidoscope

  17. And at the last minute, here is mine: http://thetwistingkaleidoscope.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/say-im-sorry/

    It did not end up going the way I’d planned . . . and maybe that’s a good thing.

    • A very good thing. I love it when a post evolves and the writer isn’t afraid to change direction. The process should stay flexible, somewhat organic. A great post. Thanks!

  18. Pingback: in the sun | … from the bungalow

  19. Pingback: The Story « Phenomenal Lass's Blog

Reply away!

