… from the bungalow

FtB Update: A week (or two) in review

18 Comments

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks. Since I haven’t made the time yet to write a new post, I wanted to do a quick recap. First, Blissfully Bald* was Freshly Pressed and had over 26k views. (I do hope to respond to everyone’s comments!) Then my son broke his leg. It took us a few days to get a wheel chair since he’s not coordinated enough to make safe use of crutches. (That’s all he needs; a fractured ulna to match his fractured tibia.) It took a few more days to get a ramp for the front of the house. (Thank you, United Cerebral Palsy of Metropolitan Detroit!!) Next, I recorded a podcast version of “Blissfully Bald” as an experiment. (Your feedback on that would be helpful!)

I was feeling pretty down after my son broke his leg, so I posed this humble request to everyone on the Facebook page:

Seeing as how I was away from work yesterday tending to my boy’s broken leg on one of my busiest days of the year, I’ll be disconnecting from Facebook as soon as I post this. In the meantime, could you all do me a favor? I’ve been feeling pretty lousy about the whole thing…

Please share something you’re grateful for!

For me, gratitude goes a long way, and I loved it when you shared your “Happiness is…” statements! Thanks in advance. I’m looking forward to reading these later! Also, there’s a chance I’ll use some of them in a blog post at the end of the week, so only participate if you don’t mind my doing so.

Christine: I hope your son heals quickly, FTB!!! As far as your request of what I’m grateful for:
I’m grateful for finally understanding and knowing what unconditional love is. And that I get it from my husband and my children.

Chris T: I’m grateful that I’m raising a seemingly well adjusted child. Its amazing considering who her father is!

Maegan: Hope the kiddo gets better fast. And the stress settles. I’m grateful for coffee (starting cup 2 shortly), the fact the Dude still naps and for the fact i don’t have to go to the store today. 🙂

The Hands Free Revolution: Sending healing thoughts you way. So sorry for what you and your family have endured. I am grateful that I have re-discovered life’s simple joys — expressions on my children’s faces, in the miracles of nature, in the unending love of my spouse, in other people’s stories of strength and triumph.

Michelle L: i’m grateful for big brothers who help teach you that sometimes shit just happens, and you cant always have control, but that does not make it your fault, and when bad shit happens there is always a life lesson to be learned. and sometimes that lesson is that run-on sentences are the debil~
♥ you Chris, it’ll be ok /hugz  (<–my baby sister)

Sarah: I am grateful for the love of my life partner who takes my hand and walks me through the hard times with any questions and helping me find something to laugh about each and every day.

Karin Z: When I put my head to the pillow while I snuggle my kids to bed, I am grateful for them 😉 and it makes me smile.

Michelle S: I’m grateful for the friends and family that love me in spite of myself sometimes. 🙂

Mary: I’m grateful that my son trusted me enough to tell me the truth!

Karin A: I am grateful for you, Chris. ♥ (<– my spouse)

Karin A: Oh, and cheese. And popcorn. Movies, sunshine, the ocean, hot chocolate, Lucas, perspective…so much to be grateful for!

Vicki: This week I am concentrating on being grateful for the little things in life such as…a surprise Starbucks delivery from the hubby, my children’s laughter, a HOT shower, camera phones, a fluffy pillow, warm boots, a phone call from a friend!

Amanda: I’m grateful for Chinese finger traps, sea monkeys, quarter machines, freshly laundered area rugs! And that I’ve finally embraced and love “my weird” 🙂 It’s so peaceful when you stop fighting against your true self and just go with the flow!

Karin A: I love your weird, too, Amanda. ♥

I am grateful for real-life friends and family who not only make life easier, but make this world a warmer place. I am grateful for medical insurance that helps pay for hospital visits and wheelchairs. I am grateful for the folks at Apria Healthcare for their efforts to get my son the equipment he needed despite some vague wording from a doctor. I am grateful for a loaner ramp from UCP-Detroit and for the friend of a friend–who doesn’t know me from Adam–who referred me to the QuickRamps for Kids program. AND I am grateful for YOU, my online friends. When I need a quick pick-me-up, all I have to do is visit some of my favorite pages or ask you folks for a little help. Your responses (above) helped a bunch. Thank you for that.

I am also grateful for humor in the midst of difficult times.

Is there anything in particular you’re grateful for today? Please share in the comments! As always, thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing. It means a lot!

*Update regarding the fundraiser: We met our goal of $1,000 in a week! So we’ve updated the goal to $2,500 and we’re over halfway there! Take a look for yourself!

Join the conversation on Twitter and Facebook!

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

18 thoughts on “FtB Update: A week (or two) in review

  1. I am grateful for medical insurance that helps pay for hospital visits and wheelchairs.
    The list of things I’m thankful for is roughly equivalent to Karin’s, but this is near the top of my list on a daily basis.

    I can’t wait to see you and Karin breeze by your second BB goal. I’ll be thankful for that, too, when it happens. 🙂

    • Yes! I should have mentioned that we updated our goal. A quick edit may be in order.

      Also? I love ya, Deb, but… why on EARTH were you up and commenting on this blog post at 4 a.m. your time?

  2. Today I am grateful for my newly dyed red hair making me feel pretty. And I’m grateful for the boys who both said they liked my hair this color. I wasn’t sure how they’d react.
    I’m also grateful for egg, cheese and tomato sandwiches for breakfast. NOM.

    • Delicious. I need to get up earlier so I can have NOMmie breakfast. I’m glad you feel pretty with your new hair color. I’m sorry I’m not more enthusiastic about the change. I thought you were pretty before. But you know how I feel about all that. 😉

  3. Hi!

    I’m a new follower, but I love your blog.

    I am grateful for the intentionality of others, and their desire to share their thoughts and creativity.

    Thanks!

    Hope you have a blessed day

    • Thanks, Schanell! That’s a good thing to be thankful for. I took a brief look at your blog and subscribed! I love that you donated your hair.

      Thanks for stopping by. Be blessed.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your son’s leg, though your inscription on his cast sure did make me giggle.

    Not only am I grateful that your Blissfully Bald post was Freshly Pressed, but also for the gift of being able to connect with so many other talented and kind-hearted writers through blogging!

  5. I’m grateful for the springlike weather that makes getting in and out if places much easier for you!

    • Amen to that! Although, I’ve been reluctant to even take him out of the house so far because of the associated difficulty. But we did go for a family walk around the neighborhood the other day, and the notable absence of snow makes for a much more pleasant outing!

  6. I’m grateful for every person who I have known in my life. Each one has taught me something.

  7. A little gratitude goes a long way. Love that you thought to draw on that when things felt a cruddy!

  8. I am grateful for the sunshine. I love that I have a roof over my head and I am ecstatic that I finally tried rockclimbing yesterday. I love friends, healthy food, laughter and I love this post!

  9. Chris! I’m grateful that I finally got caught up with reading posts from my favorite blogs-like THIS one. I’m grateful for the guys who made a super heart-shaped pizza for Maycee and me yesterday since she was home sick from school and missed out on the holiday fun. I’m grateful to be able to see the beauty in small things and to be able to appreciate what I have instead of wanting what I don’t. I’m so grateful to be a mom. I’m grateful that my grandma turned 101 yesterday and is in good health! The list is endless-thanks for encouraging positive thinking! Hugs-SWM.

Reply away!

