… from the bungalow

Happy National Coming Out Day!

25 Comments

In about two-and-a-half weeks, I’ll be getting married… for the second time. I am heterosexual. My fiancee is bisexual. I’ve been a proponent for equal rights my entire adult life. So it is with no small amount of sadness that while I’ll be joyfully celebrating the legal union between my partner and me, I will also be remembering the fact that many of our closest friends are not able to enjoy the same benefits. We plan to wear equality rings on our wedding day in support of legalizing same-sex marriage.

Same-sex marriage is now legal in six of our 50 United States, plus the District of Columbia. Two-thirds of those states are in New England, which also constitutes two-thirds of the New England region. It is currently legal in more states to marry your cousin than it is to marry a person of the same sex. However, SIX (!) of our 50 states have recognized the validity of a commitment between two loving people of the same sex. I’m thankful for the baby steps! The biggest changes in history began with baby steps.

Friends, how can we call ourselves a free society when so many of our brothers and sisters are oppressed? Establishing equal human rights is the responsibility of all humans. I’m taking a stand for equality today. Will you?

Yours in solidarity, support, equality and–most of all–love,

Chris

Are you also a straight supporter of equal human rights? Not sure what to expect if a friend or family member were to come out to you today? HRC has a guide for that! And if you are thinking about coming out, there are resources for you, too. You are not alone!

National Coming Out Day

Happy National Coming Out Day!

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

25 thoughts on “Happy National Coming Out Day!

  1. Love it! Great post!

    🙂
    Amy

  2. I thought marriage was about love… and committment… and honoring each other. It’s a union of two souls, two hearts, two hands. Nobody can choose who they fall in love with – it’s not about God either – I was taught that God is loving and wants the best for humanity – but it’s up to us to make it happen. God doesn’t control everything, he makes it possible for us to make our own decisions. Why would anyone CHOOSE to be discriminated against? Why would anyone CHOOSE persecution?
    “Be yourself.”
    “Be honest.”
    “Just tell the truth.”

    In some cases, the truth does not set you free… the truth makes you a target. I’d rather be the real me and be a target than have to hide who I really am.

    Unfortunately equality may not happen until all of the globe is blind – then nobody would be able to discriminate against “the different.”

    Everyone deserves to be him/her/itself.
    Hopefully we’ll get there, but I think as long as we have the harshness of life right here in our own front yard, right here in the “land of opportunity” the “land of the free” the “home of the brave” –

    I may be getting off-topic, but in discussing some of these things with my fiance, I am becoming more supportive of his dislike for political officials in high places – do they really listen to the common man? The people that work hard and are told by one of the candidates for president, “don’t blame the corporations, don’t blame wall street. if you don’t have a job, if you’re not rich, blame yourself!”
    Well, sir, I’m not rich. I’ve made choices in my life that you may not agree with. That does not matter. I am a person and a citizen of this country and I deserve the same opportunities and respect as the highest-paid individual in this nation. Nobody tells me “you don’t deserve this” because, sir, YES I DO. I deserve respect, I deserve kindness and dammit, I deserve to be myself without fearing being lynched… or stoned… or beaten… or denied… or bullied… or disrespected… talked-down-upon… need I go on?

    I am a human being, I deserve to be treated as such.
    Do not deny me. Do not deny my family. Do not deny my faith. Do not deny my humanity.

  3. Ah I see now. This makes me love you two kids even more. xo

  4. I’m in the boat of if we lose people over this, they weren’t the people we wanted reading our stuff anyway.

  5. Love ya, hon!

  6. I found your post through Deborah’s post that linked back to you. Thanks for sharing and being a example of what can be in terms of love, commitment and acceptance.

    • Thanks, Patti! I’ll reiterate what I just said to a reader on Facebook re: acceptance. Truly, it’s not about acceptance any more than it’s about fear. It’s neither, really. It’s about truth and honoring the individual. No more, no less.
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  7. Nice distinction. Accepting any and all individuals as simply that, another individual on our planet deserving of respect is an admirable goal.

    • Yes, and I’m working on practicing that with my kids! My step-son (to be) has a very different demeanor than my two bio kids, and it’s sometimes tricky treating him as an individual and not just a child who needs near-constant redirection.

  8. I found your post by way of my neice, Emmajewel. At 54 years old, widow of a career soldier, who happend to be 23 years older than I, and black,I’m white by the way, we were married for 35 years… I have to say…who you love is often not in your hands…you love who you love … and that should be the right of every one regardless of who that person happends to be.

    • Thanks for your comment, Robin. And I agree. Age, race and sexual orientation should all be considered non-factors in determining our right to be married.

  9. Another new post?!?! You almost knocked me off of my chair! WTG 🙂

  10. Pingback: National Coming Out Day? Who Knew? « Learn More Everyday

  11. This post was in my fb memories so I re-read it and realized I didn’t “like” it or comment on it when you originally wrote it 5 years ago. I loved it then and still love it today. Also, we look super adorable in that picture. Xoxo

Reply away!

