… from the bungalow

A Day in the Life (Blogger Idol Week 7)

2 Comments

This week, we were asked to write about a normal day in our lives, except everyone in our families were vampires. I scored well with the judges, but I did not have enough votes to save me. Fortunately, I had immunity this week, and I’m one of the top 5! I’ll definitely need more votes next week to keep me going.

This is a difficult post to write because I am about to disclose something very personal–very private–to you, my loyal readers. But it is my hope that this will reach others who may be hiding their own uniqueness for fear of being the pariahs of society. If my struggle will help others, and if I can shed some light onto the subject, this post will be worth it. My family and I are…

Vampires.

For centuries my kind have been sought after and destroyed out of fear. But it all boils down to one thing: misunderstanding. So please continue reading as I try to show you that our lives are not much different than your own.

sunblockEver wonder why I’m so pale? I chalk it up to my English/Irish decent. In extreme cases, I tell people I have severe photo sensitivity, which technically isn’t untrue. I generally wear long sleeves and a hat to get to work, and my car windows are heavily tinted. I wear lots of sunblock, which is a nightmare in itself. I hate the way it feels all goopy on my skin. Plus, have you ever tried to find SPF 500? Please. (I recommend zinc oxide paste.) It’s even worse on the kids with school. They all have notes on file that they’re not allowed to play outside for recess. It’s heartbreaking, really. My job suits me, though, because I work in an office within an office and there are absolutely no windows. I have perpetual Seasonal Affective Disorder, but what can you do?

The kids can be ruthless. They’re 7, 6 and 4. They’re always vamping out and hissing at each other and stuff. I can’t count how many times I’ve had to put one of them into time out because of biting. Ridiculous.

Probably the trickiest part is all of us staying on the same schedule. It would be so much easier to slip into a pattern of sleeping during the day, but school and work make that difficult. Karin is really tempted to take more of a night shift cycle, but being the stay-at-home parent, she sucks it up and goes to bed with me at night. Such a great partner.

J/k. It's someone else's blood. (Borrowed from nataliedee.com.)

On the upside, as it turns out, blood is exceedingly delicious. Orgasmic, almost. It’s indescribable. But don’t worry; we get around the whole people-killing thing. I’d be curious to find out, though, what other suggestions my readers might have for maintaining a blood supply. We keep a back-up of bovine blood in the basement freezer, but we also have a sort of deal going on with a local hospital. That’s all I can really say about that, though.

Grown-up time is also pretty special in my home. Once the kids are in bed… Holla!

So there you have it. My life isn’t so very different. We just have to make a few accommodations. I hope I’ve made an impact. With more understanding comes greater acceptance, and that’s just good for everyone.

Peace.

Chris, from the bungalow (https://fromthebungalow.wordpress.com/)

Judges Comments:

“I like that you took a very practical, almost PSA, take on this subject. It was lighthearted but sincere. I would have like to have seen a little more detail or anecdotal stories of how you deal with every day challenges, and perhaps a few “perks” you get from the uniqueness of your situation but you covered the major vamp-related stereotypes well.”

Random Girl, from Random Girl Blog

“I like the way this post is styled. Like Random Girl, I would like to have seen maybe more of a “day in the life” style, but still, a very well done post.”

The Dude, from The DaddyYo Blog

“I like this. It was clear and concise, with just the right amount of humor thrown in to keep it light. As Random Girl said, almost a PSA approach. I think you definitely nailed the assignment. Good job! ”

Amy, from Non-Stop Mom 

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life (Blogger Idol Week 7)

  1. No one commented on this?! I am appalled.
    Vampires are sexy, yo.

Reply away!

