… from the bungalow

Paging Dr. Chach (Blogger Idol Week 6)

2 Comments

Here’s my Blogger Idol Week 6 post. Again, the judges liked the direction I took with it, and thanks you all of you beautiful people, I’m through to Week 7! That means I’m halfway there and I’m guaranteed at least sixth place. My goal is to make it at least to fifth place. Stay tuned this Wednesday to help me get there!

What do I want to be when I grow up? Or, what does my dream career look like?

River Stones Question MarkI’ve been doing a lot of soul-searching in this area lately. And by lately, I mean the past 15 years or so. But more so in recent history. I just took a career profiling questionnaire with my career counselor last week, but I won’t see the results until the end of this week. But what was interesting about this questionnaire were my responses to some of the questions.

I would never have thought, for example, that I’d say that I’m interested in training people on new services, or that I’d love to be a musician. (Of course I would. I just never thought it to be practical.) Yet, that’s how I answered. See, there’s always that little voice in my head telling me why I can’t (or shouldn’t) be or do something. But then, let’s think creatively for a minute, because part of me believes that there is nothing that I cannot be, do or have, but that I am limited only by my own thoughts and behaviors. Letting go, then, of those nagging little thoughts, I ask myself: What do I want?

Dr. Chach.

Buddy Christ(opher)I have this nickname (sort of–no one actually calls me this these days) that a now-lost friend once gave me: Chach. (I don’t know where it came from; he was usually on drugs…) And I have this longing to be the fun, go-to guy; the expert in the field; the guy who helps people and changes the world. I’d be Dr. Chach or just “Doc,” and I’d be a kick-ass, regular Joe kind of therapist. I’d have the coolest, funnest, “meaningfullest” group therapy sessions. I’d be the guy walking through the center shooting the ol’ point-and-wink at my clients in the lobby. Alright, I probably wouldn’t be that cheesy. Probably.

You know, they say that the quickest way to accomplish a goal or manifest a dream is to put it in present rather than future tense. With that in mind, what’s with all this “I would be” stuff? Let’s forgo the “I will be” and go straight for the “I am.”

Putting things in “the now.”

I am a published researcher and author. I’m the keynote speaker at international conferences. And I’m considered the coolest expert in my field due to my multi-faceted approach to mental health, because on top of holding a PhD in counseling or psychology, I’m also an accomplished musician and music psychotherapist. (See The Bonny Method of Guided Imagery and Music.) Of course, I still blog, and I have a wildly popular site about mental health from a regular Joe standpoint (cue Dr. Chach, *point-and-wink*).

And now that I’m famous for my contributions to mental health, my family and I enjoy trips to places like Machu Picchu, Tokyo, Seattle and the moon. (Hey, it’s my dream.)

Make it so.

Zen Rock Garden--So Shall It BeSo often, we fall into those pesky, negative thought patterns: I’m not experienced enough, not smart enough, not committed enough. I need training. It’s too difficult, too expensive, too time consuming. What will others think of my decisions? What if I fail? What if I let down those who depend on me? What if I succeed? What new responsibilities will I have? Will I be able to handle it?

Here’s the thing, though: our dreams (hopes) are entirely our own. Reality has no bearing on dreams. Carl Jung said, “It all depends on how we look at things, and not on how they are themselves.” Who I am today is the culmination of my own past thoughts, beliefs and actions. So today I will think, believe and act as if my dream is reality. Perception is everything.

Paging Dr. Chach.

~ Chris, from the Bungalow (https://fromthebungalow.wordpress.com/)

Judges Comments:

“I would say that you have definitely lived an eventful life and are thinking of the right things right now…and of course I too would be interested to see what the career counselor might add to the mix!”

Chris, from Dad of Divas 

“That is one doctor I would look forward to seeing. Putting yourself in the present of what you want to materialize, that is powerful stuff. I could almost see you standing at a podium in front a huge adoring audience who was hanging on your every word. Way to capture that scene and take us there with you to ‘the now.'”

Random Girl, from Random Girl Blogs

“While I was reading this post, I could almost feel you getting excited about things. I could see you sitting at your computer, typing faster and faster as you got more and more motivated to live your dream as you were telling us the story.  This was a great, motivating post.”

Heather, from My Husband Ate All My Ice Cream

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

2 thoughts on “Paging Dr. Chach (Blogger Idol Week 6)

  1. I forgot to comment on this one. Probably because I commented on the BI site. Ah well.
    As always, good stuff. 🙂

Reply away!

