… from the bungalow

Take a Step of Faith

15 Comments

One autumn morning, 1999…

“Ummm, financial aid, I guess.”

I know: articulate, eloquent, well thought out… I’m a regular Alan Rickman. It’s the kind of statement entire careers are built around. /sarcasm

I had recently graduated college, was newly wed and my spouse had just landed a job at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. So I figured I’d enter the workforce through the U of M temp pool. I had scored exceptionally well on the office skills tests, received high praises for a temporary receptionist position that had just ended and I had first pick of three new temp jobs. The question was, “Would you like to work in this office, that office, or the financial aid office?”

direction signsThe rest of my history in financial aid is boring, so I’ll spare you the details. My point is: that’s all it took. No careful consideration of my career path, no educated decision making based on growth potential, nothing. Just a completely arbitrary stab in the dark. I can’t even call it a choice, because what did I choose, really? Eeny meeny miny moe would have been more methodical.

I’m sure my decision took no longer than five seconds. Yet, years later, here I am working in financial aid with a combined 6+ years under my belt. For a while in the middle, I was a stay-at-home dad and part-time music therapist (my chosen field), but I eventually came back to financial aid because of the predictable hours, salary and benefits.

Five seconds was all it took to create an outline that would help shape years of my life: knowledge I’ve gained, friends I’ve made in colleagues, conferences I’ve traveled to… Five. Seconds.

Of course, my experiences and thoughts leading up to that moment probably played some part in my decision. Every past thought leads to my current place in the world. Still, all it took was five measly seconds. So why on earth do I spend so many hours/days/years fretting over certain other decisions? How many personality profile questionnaires and career aptitude tests do I have to take before I finally decide that…

Where I am at any given moment is where I’m meant to be.

Faith. Contentedness. Acceptance. Gratitude.

When I’m feeling uncertain about my path in life, I try to remember to trust the process. I remind myself to have faith. I find contentment in being where I am right now by accepting the way things are. I thank the Universe for the experiences that led me here.

girl walking into waterI’ve gotten a little out of practice with all the transition over the past two years (divorce, new job, new house, new family responsibilities), but I’ve found that when I do these things–especially when I appreciate–life.gets.easy. And good. So good. When I remember to have faith, it’s like stones suddenly and magically appear beneath my feet as I step out onto the water, and I know with each step that the next step I take will not go unsupported.

So take a few steps of faith. Go ahead and spend only five seconds on a few decisions. Walk out onto the water and expect the stones to be there, then revel in your absolute confidence that “there’s nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be…

“It’s easy.”

Chris

In what ways have you taken a step of faith or made a split second decision that had a significant impact on your life? Comment below. 🙂 And don’t forget to join the conversation on the Facebook page or Twitter.

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

15 thoughts on “Take a Step of Faith

  1. Nice. I tell me wife all the time “we’ll figure it somehow.” Kinda joves with what you;re saying. Congrats on #50.

  2. The most important split second decision I’ve made was the one to talk to my dad at the county courthouse after his plea to get custody of my youngest sister was rejected. As he started walking away, I said to my siblings something akin to, “Holy cow, this is our chance. This is our chance to end things on our terms.”

    Even though I was shaking, I called to him and walked to where he’d stopped in the hall. I told him I’d always love him but that there could be no room in my life for someone who couldn’t understand or live accountability. It’s a powerful thing, to face someone who’s abused you and your loved ones and look them in the eyes. I feel like that moment–the result of nothing more than a little exclamation mark popping up above my head–determined the course of my future, and how I’d shape it, more than many a long considered, painstaking decision. It wasn’t just the decision, but also acting on it with love instead of hostility. I’m fighting off tears remembering how simultaneously weak and strong I felt in that moment . . . and how unequivocally strong I felt afterward.

    I love this entry, and more importantly? I’m going to try it. I’m getting more and more enamored of order, process and pro/con lists, but this is a good reminder that shouldn’t be everything. Thanks for the smile, and the hope. 🙂

  3. Fantastically written, easily relatable, and powerfully positive. Definitely my favorite post so far. 🙂

  4. Live and let live. Choose a path. Walk it. Choose another. Live. Acceptance – not only of ourselves and our choices but of others paths and choices. Take away the concepts of positive and negative and live your life. Good reminders and well written.

    • Thanks, Gillian! And you also provide a good reminder: not to qualify things as positive or negative. Everything that is, is. We make choices based on what is.

  5. I love this post. It is so true. It’s so comforting to think that no matter what happens, it was meant to happen. I don’t believe in the phrase ‘wrong place at the wrong time’ because if something happens, it was supposed to.

    • Thanks, Heather! Perhaps taking it one step further, I like to think that if something happens, it’s not just because it was supposed to, but because we needed it to; because we made it happen. Same idea, really, but it gives me more sense of control and responsibility over things. 🙂

  6. My mantra has be come: Practice gratitude, Honor ordinary, Lean into joy.

    And this line: “… but I’ve found that when I do these things–especially when I appreciate–life.gets.easy. And good.” I need to remember that more often myself.

    • Thanks. Yes, I often have to remind myself. It’s tricky to make it a part of my daily thoughts. But that’s the cool thing about thoughts. If you think something long enough, it turns into a belief. 🙂 I like your mantra!

  7. Loved this one! I don’t know why I didn’t comment. Sorry. Better late than never, right?

Reply away!

