… from the bungalow

Dear Small Ones: An open letter to my kids on Father’s Day

21 Comments

In honor of Father’s Day, I had considered writing about my dad and our relationship. Then I considered writing about what being a dad means to me. But then I thought, what better way to express what Father’s Day means to me than to tell my kids what they mean to me? Because, after all, isn’t that what defines me as a father? In that light, I offer an open letter to my kids on Father’s Day (from youngest to oldest).

Dear L,

Lucas-outsideYou came into my life almost two years ago. Sooner than that when you consider the impact you had on Mom before I met (re-met) her. You are a force to be reckoned with, young man. You are Lucafer and Angelucas. Your high energy and intensity make you an exceptional human being, and I am proud to call you my son. I love you, Poop Face.

Dear S,

Simon-playgroundWhen you were born, I called you my Little Bird, and even wrote a poem to you. It may be the only poem I’ve ever written to anyone. Your precociousness precedes you wherever you go. You are stubborn (convicted), manipulative (commanding), funny, sincere, also a little intense, and a slew of other amazing things. I am proud to call you my spawn. I love you, Little Bird.

Dear F,

Finn-playgroundI don’t even know where to begin. Chances are, you won’t be able to understand this in the same capacity as the other boys. You… You’ve changed me. So much of who I am is because you have the courage to be who you are. You’ve challenged me with your unique, raw perspective of the world around you. You are as difficult as you are loving. You inspire me. Thank you for being my first born, for setting the bar, and for giving me new purpose. I love you, Little Professor.

With love and appreciation,

Dad

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

21 thoughts on “Dear Small Ones: An open letter to my kids on Father’s Day

  1. I love this. Absolutely love this.

  2. wow, beautiful. ❤

    Can I copy this idea on my blog sometime? It is really beautiful.

    • Of course, Kell! It’s all out there to inspire others. I’m not the first blogger to use an open letter format. Although, if you felt like mentioning me as providing inspiration, I wouldn’t argue. 😉

  3. Awesome, Chris. You’re the best dad Lucas could ever ask for and more than I ever hoped for. And your boys are lucky to share your amazing genes.
    You’re going to inspire them all to be as good of a man and father as you, and even greater.
    Thank you for being who you are. I love you.

  4. Thanks for loving my grandsons!

  5. Wonderful. They teach us just as much as, if not more than, we teach them. And you put it simply and beautifully. Well done.

  6. this is fantastic, you’re fantastic, Chris…

  7. I love that Lucas was included right along with your biological boys.. I totally love that you are Dad and he is your son.. That is amazing, as it doesn’t always happen that way. All three boys are beyond blessed to have such a Man in their lives to call Dad. This letter to your boys was wonderful. I always thank my Daughter on Mothers day, for without her, it’d just be another day!

  8. Pingback: Blogger Idol Week 1 | … from the bungalow

  9. Chris,
    I cried when I read this… Beautiful! I’m so proud to call you Son!

Reply away!

