… from the bungalow

Versatile Blogger Award

14 Comments

Versatile Blogger Award

I’m not exactly sure how “versatile” I feel as a blogger yet, but I appreciate the sentiment. And since I’m still a “new blogger,” and because I’m still defining my voice and niche, I’ll play along. Besides, it’s another good way to encourage other writers (did I just call myself a writer?) and spread the word of their blogs. πŸ™‚

Here are the rules of the Versatile Blogger Award:

  1. Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them in your post.
  2. Tell us seven things about yourself.
  3. Award fifteen recently discovered new bloggers.

1. Heather from My Husband Ate All My Ice Cream tagged me in her recent post. Thanks for the writing prompt, Heather!

2. Seven things… Am I interesting enough to come up with seven whole facts? Let’s see…

  • I have a bachelor’s degree in–and am certified to practice–music therapy. You probably already knew that from reading Quiet Is the New Loud. Yet I work in financial aid administration. Fancy, expensive college degree FTW.
  • I have this fun little neurological thing called synesthesia. (I’m a synesthete.) In my case, I involuntarily associate gender and color attributes to numbers, letters, days of the week, months, etc. I didn’t know there was a term for it until a couple of years ago. I just thought it was typical. As it turns out, not so much.
  • When I was a baby and toddler, everyone thought I was a girl. I had light, curly hair that my mom couldn’t bring herself to cut. She suffered a constant barrage of “what a cute little girl you have,” despite having dressed me in blue almost every day of my life.
  • Also according to my mom, I was in a car accident as a tike (her sister was driving) and I went head-first through the passenger window as she caught me. I have scars to prove it. Nobody believes it, but she swears by it. I even have my moments of doubt. She says the cop at the scene initially reported a baby on the road because he saw me go out the window. Yet, here I am. Just one of the many reasons I believe life is magical.
  • I’m the oldest of four kids, and the only boy. I’m also the only one in the family who doesn’t require corrective lenses. I live two miles away from one sister, but I don’t see her as much as I’d like or as much as I thought I would when I moved here. The other two sisters (twins) and my parents live a state away. I miss them.
  • I’m on excellent terms with my ex-wife. Just the other day she and my fiancee took all the kids swimming. More on that tomorrow.
  • Finally, a confession: I will occasionally develop a man-crush on celebrities. Of course I have a few female celebrities that I like to ogle, but what (straight) guy doesn’t? That’s not as interesting. But Damian Kulash of OK Go (so talented) recently out-ranked Ryan Reynolds (not as talented, just ridiculously good-looking… jerk) for man-crush status. Then again, I haven’t yet seen Green Lantern…

So there you have it. Seven things about me that you probably didn’t know.

3. 15 recently discovered bloggers. These folks’ writing gives me a tickle (in no particular order):

  1. Moms Who Drink and Swear
  2. Give Me a Valium with My Latte
  3. Message with a Bottle
  4. Adventures of a Single, Lesbian Mother
  5. Dad v. Autism
  6. Adventures in Mommyhood
  7. Daddy Knows Less
  8. Trying2Express
  9. Rants from Mommyland
  10. The Monster in Your Closet
  11. Five Things At Once
  12. Non-Stop Mom
  13. Epic Parenting
  14. The Raconteur Daddy
  15. Pinwheels and Poppies

That last one is my Karin’s new blog. πŸ™‚ Some of these folks are really new bloggers, others are only kinda new. Sorry, I had to bend the rules a little. If you like my blog, you’re sure to find something else you like in this list.

Happy reading and happy blogging!

Update: I also want to add to the list My Inspirations. Kris writes for herself and she writes from the heart. Please give her blog a look. Thanks.

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

14 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Great idea!
    I may have to do this, even tho I personally am not a “new” blogger… I can still award new blogger awards!
    πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, you’re one of the “not so new” bloggers. πŸ˜› But you’re new to me and I figured you wouldn’t turn down the writing prompt.

  2. Aren’t these things hard to do? I just got a second one, and I was like….. 7 MORE things? ACK! HAHAHA!

  3. I’m also the eldest of four in a one-son household! (My brother was #3.)

    Your fourth bullet was awesome. What an excellent reason to believe in magic, as you say!

    I’m going to be “paying it forward” myself soon, by the way. I’m still grateful for that!

  4. Hi Chris! Yep, your 4th thing about yourself is very true. I have several scars going up my upper arm where I was sliced by the jagged edge of the broken window when my head and shoulders went through after you. I was told by so many medical professionals, in addition to the police, that it was an impossibility, and yet it happened. (there’s more, but I’ll talk to you later about that)
    I’ll be sure to check out your list of bloggers…

  5. P.S. you were 13 months old…

  6. Thanks for the nod Chris. I’ve really enjoyed your writing as well.

  7. Pingback: Priscilla, Queen of the Short Bus | … from the bungalow

  8. Good stuff. I love you. (hehe still trying to bring my ranking up!)

Reply away!

