… from the bungalow

Paying It Forward: My fellow bloggers

25 Comments

thumbs upA couple of weeks ago, Jeff over at Five Things At Once asked his readers to go out and find some creative people, then “pay it forward” by giving them some encouragement. So I decided I’d make more effort to actually read (rather than skim) other people’s blogs and comment on them. I’d also like to highlight some of them in this post. This is may pay it forward deed of the day.

Yes I’m on My Way by EmmaJewel

A post I enjoyed: Nothing fixes a thing so intensely in the memory as the wish to forget it.

Brief synopsis: Memories of a difficult time during her childhood, how she finally “got guts” and what saved her in high school.

Why I enjoyed it: Personal, honest.

The Monster in Your Closet by Deborah

A post I enjoyed: The lightness of remembering well. I almost chose a different post to highlight, but this one was really nice. OK, I’ll include both. 🙂

Brief synopsis: Deborah shares the words of her sister Rachael as she describes how she felt while running a marathon in memory of their mother.

Why I enjoyed it: Brief yet touching.

Another post I enjoyed: A happy Easter indeed

Brief synopsis: Events that happen leading up to–and including–Easter, and a beautiful description of her sense of rebirth.

Why I enjoyed it: Descriptive, uplifting.

Moms Who Drink and Swear by Nicole Knepper

A post I enjoyed: A-hole or Ego?

Brief synopsis: Strongly worded letter to parents about the importance of mental health.

Why I enjoyed it: EPIC, like a lot of what Nikki writes. This one was particularly good. Honest, passionate.

Five Things At Once by Jeff Silvey

A post I enjoyed: Hit The Ground Running

Brief synopsis: The frustrations and difficulties of keeping up with his pre-school aged daughter as a SAHD, and the fears that go along with “not working.”

Why I enjoyed it: Honest, thoughtful, I can relate.

Well, folks, those are a few of the blogs I enjoy. Read one if it sounds like your cup of tea. Better yet, read them all. You’ll find comments from me on all of them. If you like their writing, let them know it. And while you’re there, let them know I sent you. 🙂

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

25 thoughts on “Paying It Forward: My fellow bloggers

  1. You have inspired me. I’m going to create an icon, kinda like the versatile blogger award thing, and I will post it on your FB page with the rules… but the theme will be paying it forward. You can have the honor of starting it.

  2. Chris,
    Wow, thank you so much for putting me out there, and thanks for reading too 🙂
    Have a happy weekend 🙂
    –Emm

  3. I was about to click on the first link when I went, “Wait, is that my name?” Talk about jarring me back to my senses after being lulled halfway to sleepsville on a quiet afternoon!

    This is a wonderful kind of jarring, though. Thank you so much for this! I’m going to have to pay it forward, too. I don’t mean that like it’s a chore, but rather–now that I’ve seen what a pick-me-up it is to see this, I’d love to inspire someone else to the same!

    Thanks to you, I’ve found next Wednesday’s post 🙂

    Happy weekend! And thanks again!

    • Deborah! I just noticed that I never replied to this comment. It’s my intention to reply to every comment on every one of my posts (until I get too big to do so).

      You are so welcome. I dare say yours is my favorite blog. I will be pimping you out again this week! 😀

      • That’s my goal, too, but I daresay I’m failing miserably at meeting it!

        Can I just say I love this comment? Love, love, and more love? BECAUSE I AM GOING TO. MWA!

        I love this comment. 😀

        • Gee, thanks! What’s so great about it? That yours is my favorite blog? 😉 I think you’ll love the blurb I wrote about your blog in this week’s Blogger Idol post. What I forgot to mention in that post is that you are the only blogger I double-dipped from, but I didn’t have a choice. One of the guidelines for this assignment was to include your favorite blog; the one you read the most. My hands were tied.

  4. Pingback: Introducing the Good Bloggers “Pay It Forward” Award | … from the bungalow

  5. Very cool idea….since I have determined that tonight will be an all-night blog-fest, I now have a few more to add to my reading list! Can’t wait to read them!

  6. Thanks so much for sharing a handful of great blogs! Loved them all!

  7. What a fabulous idea! Everyone loves to have feedback and know that they are making a difference to someone! Thanks for the inspiration!

  8. This is my first visit to your blog…and I can say, I will be back! Since starting my own blog, I have already “paid it forward” by inspiring a friend to start her own blog. Another is getting ready to start one. We all need a little encouragement in our lives, and who better to get it from than one who’s already doing it!

    • Thanks, Kay! Starting a blog can be a little nerve wracking. We put ourselves out there and could use a little moral support now and then.

  9. Hey thanks for bringing your blog to my attention! This is a really cool idea!! I’ll be sure to be back, and will even consider doing a post like this!

    🙂 Thanks!

    Kell ~ the single, lesbian mother (who blogs for fun)

  10. Pingback: Paying it forward, blogger-style « The Monster in Your Closet

  11. Pingback: viant_Dad%

  12. Hi. It’s just me. You’re the best.

  13. Pingback: Good Bloggers Pay It Forward My Husband Ate All My Ice Cream

Reply away!

