… from the bungalow

Striking a Balance

12 Comments

While I do appreciate having a full-time, salaried job, between work and family, I don’t have nearly as much time as I’d like to devote to this blog. I really wanted to publish 6 new posts per week, having a handful of drafts on hand for slow writing days. Ha!

I find myself doing most of my writing from work during my lunch break instead of from the comfort of my little bungalow. That doesn’t give me much time for writing and revising. But just where is all of my time going? There are 168 hours in a week. Approximately 56 of those should be spent sleeping, but in reality, I sleep about 40 hours per week. The other 16 hours are spent between a little bit of “me time” and night wakings with The Little Professor. My job keeps me away from home about 50 hours per week. Count 7-10 hours for family meals at the dining table and we’re down to 52-55 hours. A few hours each weekend are spent outside or doing something with the kids, while just as many hours are spent during the week on policing children and resisting the urge to slam my head into a wall. Another 10 hours are spent on bedtime routines each night. I figure that brings us to somewhere around 15 hours. Divide that by 7 and you have a little over 2 hours a day that are usually spent on miscellaneous junk like paying bills, answering the phone, yard work, wiping kids’ butts, helping with dishes, pooping, etc., with just a smidgen left over for Facebooking and blogging. Thank Jebus Karin takes care of the house as well as she does.

kids riding bikesBut as my ex-MIL likes to remind me, I’m not working for my employer, I’m working for my family. And as boring and uninspiring as my job may be, it pays the bills. For that, I am truly grateful. So unless this blog starts paying the bills (*fist-shake*), it’s going to have to take a back seat to my family and other obligations. I’m not giving up on it by any means! This is my therapy. I love to write, but I love my family more, and as much as I want to make this blog successful, I want them to know how much they’re appreciated and loved. I just have to strike a balance. I know I’ll find it.

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

12 thoughts on “Striking a Balance

  1. That made me cry a little, love. Thank you for loving me and our kids so much. I don’t think I do such a great job taking care of the house, but I do try. I don’t want you to slow down on the blog unless it’s really something you feel like you need to do. I’ll always be here, no matter what. ❤

  2. Out of all of that the pooping stands out….I am still laughing how you count that part of your misc. junk time. It is so wasteful……LOL

  3. Rock On! Time does fly when you are having fun. At the end of the day, seeing sleeping little angelic faces tucked into their beds sure does make it worth it! I think probably the more you write, the more natural it will be, and thus, the less time it will take. You’ll be cranking these posts out in 5 minutes flat before long! *high five*

    • Thanks, Teri. I have noticed a decrease in time spent writing. I’m also making an effort to resist the urge to over-revise. One revision is usually enough. *high five* Alright.

  4. When I started my blog a few months back, I meant to write five days a week. Five days became four. A few weeks later, four became three. I’m still striving for three now, but I’m not going to sweat it if I only hit two.

    Part of this is being mindful that my “real” writing ought come first, if I can make the time for writing. If I finish a few hundred words and have more time left over? Then it’s on to blog writing. That’s in the ideal world, of course. In the real world, if a thought hits me, it smashes its way around my brainpan until I transform it to the written word. 🙂

    It’s funny . . . before I had my son, I hated my time on the job. Now I regret that my time on the job takes me away from my son, but I’m grateful my job allows me to have a son. And I savor those long weekends where I really just get to be with him. But I digress, so I’ll stop here!

    • It sounds like you’re prioritizing well and are basically happy with your situation, Deborah. Glad to hear it. Looking forward to reading more from you!

  5. Pingback: You have more Time than you Think « Grown Up For Real!!!

  6. I feel VALIDATED. This is exactly how I’ve been feeling lately. I really love blogging and feel at home in this blogging world. Most times even more than my job that puts food on the table.

    As I write this post, I’m drinking a cup of coffee, washing a load of laundry and making a grocery list. ALL before jumping in the shower to run out the door and drop my daughter off at school and head to work. But it’s worth every moment to sacrifice some time to build my blog and focus on my writing. My kids are a bit older 15 and 19 so I don’t have to worry as much but they still need my time and attention. Especially the 19 year old that just returned home from college (he was rather homesick).

    With the summer approaching, I plan to take all my free moments when I’m not at my paying job or in the garden to blog, blog, blog.

    Thanks for letting me know that I’m not alone with trying to juggle my new blog life.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you were able to connect with this. That’s kind of what I’m about: connectedness. I read the post about your son’s excursion. And of course he’s homesick. How could a first-born son not want to come home to see his mama after his first year of college? 🙂

  7. Pingback: ‘If Only I Had the Time’ and Other Excuses for Being Unhappy | … from the bungalow

Reply away!

