… from the bungalow

All About Me(me)…

7 Comments

Ack! I’ve been tagged. I usually take a pass on this type of thing when it shows up in Facebook or email. But this is my personal blog, so it seemed appropriate.

If you could go back in time and relive one moment, what would it be?

There have been a few really memorable and amazing moments in my life, but this one tops the cake: September **, 2003, the birth of my first son. He had been in a frank breech position and couldn’t be turned around, so the doctor recommended a cesarean section. The birth was scheduled for the afternoon and my then-wife and I were quite a bit nervous. But the procedure went without complication. And when I first looked on this screaming, bloody, wrinkled mess of a human being, I thought I was looking at God. I cried both out of joy and fear as I watched them suction, poke, prod, take measurements and otherwise appear to violate his delicate little body. I was so completely full of love and hope and dreams then. To me he was a miracle. I had no idea how many times those dreams would be crushed and reborn.

Either that or this one time at band camp…

Alyson Hannigan band camp

If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?

This one’s tricky because I really try to fully accept everything in my past as having created who I am today. Then again, I’m not always very happy with who I am today. That said, the first thing that comes to mind is an eighth grade music recital at my junior high. I had recently participated in the State Solo and Ensemble Festival–I play(ed) clarinet–and had done well. During a school band concert, my band teacher showcased the students who had participated in S&E. As Murphy’s Law would have it, right before my turn on stage, another kid bumped into my clarinet, splitting the reed. Being 13 years old, I wasn’t exactly Mr. Foresight, and didn’t have a back-up reed. I was already incredibly nervous, and this didn’t help matters. I got on stage, took what seemed to be my first and last breath, and squeaked and squawked my way through a piece that I had performed so well just a week before. A couple of jerkfaces in the back of the gym laughed and yelled “squeak!” the entire time. It was mortifying. At the end of the night, I cried and cried because of how embarrassed I was. (Again with the crying…) I explained to my band teacher what had happened to my reed and I could tell that he felt bad as he tried to console me. If I had it to do over again, I’d bring another reed with me. And breathe.

What movie/TV character do you most resemble in personality?

Um… is there an approaching-middle-aged dad with a boring job on Television? If there is, I probably wouldn’t watch it because it would be… What’s the word I’m searching for? Oh, that’s right: lame. Anyway, I guess I might go with Xander Harris. I’m kind of a dork, considered a loyal friend, witty in a sort of childish way. Plus, only witches and ex-demons want to date me. Awesome!

Nicholas Brendon

Nicholas Brendon Photo: Andrew MacPherson/UPN.

What movie/TV character would you most like to be?

I would love to be Captain Malcolm Reynolds, space cowboy pirate! Coolest. Job. EVAR. (Yes, Jeff, I’m a Whedonite, too.) Captain Mal’s got it all: integrity, wit and a penchant for roguery. Nathan Fillion is the ultimate nerdy bad boy. Plus, I’ve always loved the name Malcolm. Malcolm McDowell, Malcolm Gladwell, Malcolm Jamal Warner… But Dad!

Nathan FillionIf you could push one person off a cliff and get away with it, who would it be?

It’s a tie between Rush Limbaugh and an elementary school teacher I had (2nd grade?) named Mrs. Rossi. That woman took every available opportunity to berate and belittle me. And I was a sweet kid! She was the only teacher I’ve ever had who didn’t seem to like me, let alone have it out for me. Crazy lady. But like I said, I try to accept all of my past for what it is. So… sorry, Rush Limbaugh.

Name one habit you want to change in yourself.

Procrastination. It’s bad, m’kay?

Describe yourself in one word.

Hippienerd. That’s one word, right?

Chris

Uh... Are we done? I'm trying to eat fried poultry carcass.

Describe the person who named you in this meme in one word.

Talented.

Why do you blog? Answer in one sentence.

I blog because language can elicit a visceral response and provide perspective, which increases awareness and improves empathy… and stuff.

Name at least 3 people to send this meme to, and then inform them.

@faminavan
@pinwheelsandpoppies
@emmajewel

OK, Go!

Chris

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

7 thoughts on “All About Me(me)…

  1. I love YOU! I’d have to agree that you’re a bit like Xander, and that makes you sexy. 😉

  2. Awesome, I like it. Xander FTW- and always bring a back up reed! 😉

  3. Thanks Chris, now I need to think, and I’m supposed to be working!
    😛

  4. Pingback: Honey Badgers & Hippies « Honey Badger Press

Reply away!

