… from the bungalow

Not Another Parenting Blog

16 Comments

BlogI’ve been thinking about the direction I’d like to take with this blog. Lately, it feels like it’s more about parenting than anything else. But this isn’t just another parenting blog. I don’t want this to become about research and citations and best practices. It’s not about methods and philosophies. It’s a personal blog, referring specifically to my person.

When I stop and think about the millions of blogs out there in the blogosphere with over a billion posts collectively, I start to wonder: What makes mine special? How do I become a familiar stranger to faceless readers? And why do I care?

I’ll start by reminding myself that the main purpose of this is to give voice to my thoughts and feelings. I’ve always been introspective, and this provides me the opportunity to “speak” the thoughts I have at any given moment. But pouring my thoughts into my computer, then publishing them for everyone (anyone?) to see (Bueller?) does involve a small amount of risk. So far, I haven’t caught any criticism, but it’s bound to happen if I plan to gain any significant following. And I’m prepared for that, because the risk yields a reward: connection.

We all seek to belong to a community. Finding meaningful connections with others helps to create that community. That’s why I’m always pushing for comments and feedback. I love the interaction with readers!

Regarding direction: I’d like to think that as long as I continue to write about the things that are important to me, the nature of this blog will reveal itself in time. Today I’m inspired by Jeff Silvey of Five Things At Once. In yesterday’s post called “State of the Blog Address,” he cites a passage from Gary Vaynerchuk’s book, Crush It!, in which he states that a blogger can expect to write about 50 posts before getting a feel for what topic is right for him or her. I’ve only got about 15 so far. I guess I’ll cut myself some slack.

So what makes mine special? I don’t really know. Maybe it’s not. Maybe it is special because it’s mine, and if no one ever reads it, at least I’ve created something individual and meaningful to me. Either way, it’s a process of trial and error. All I can really do is make it as organic a process as possible and learn from my mistakes. As far as topics are concerned, I guess time will tell.

From the bungalow,

Chris

P.S. Thanks, as usual, for reading. Comments are welcome. And feel free to join me on Facebook. πŸ™‚

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

16 thoughts on “Not Another Parenting Blog

  1. I read them all, so be encouraged, someone out here reads it. I may not always comment, but I read them! πŸ™‚ What I appreciate is your honesty, your willingness to discuss things that may be difficult. You come across as very sincere. Keep being yourself. Have a fantastic day, Chris!
    J : )

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, Jan! And thanks for letting me know what you appreciate about my writing. That’s helpful. Have a great day. πŸ™‚

  2. I read them all, but I kinda have to. πŸ˜‰ I love your writing and am a little bit jealous that you’re so good at it. I agree that the main purpose of this blog will reveal itself in time. In the meantime, keep writing about anything and everything that pops into your cute little head, and it will be good. You can’t really go wrong. I love you. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Karin. You don’t technically have to read them, but I appreciate the fact that you do. πŸ™‚ Your encouragement helps lots. I love you, too.

      Oh, and don’t feel jealous. You’re a good writer, too! We just have different styles. πŸ˜‰

  3. “So far, I haven’t caught any criticism, but it’s bound to happen if I plan to gain any significant following. And I’m prepared for that, because the risk yields a reward: connection.”

    I’ve only been blogging for a couple of months, but this was the toughest part for me: if I put myself out there, I’m opening myself to criticism! I started small and tentative, but have gathered the courage to be both raw and real with every encouraging comment. The connections that are made possible by opening myself up in this way have far outweighed–in my assessment–the downsides like this one.

    I started my blog out as a “platform” for my writing. I read that commenting on other peoples’ journals was the best way to get people commenting on my own. It started out as a strategy, but I pretty quickly ditched that as a strategy when I realized the connection component was far more powerful, and even more satisfying.

    I love entries like this. I love getting to see straight into peoples’ minds, regardless of whether it’s about writing, blogging, parenting, or puppies. If it’s real and honest (and not hateful!), there’s a good chance I’ll love it. I’ve certainly loved everything I’ve seen here so far!

    So says another blogger who sees her blog becoming a parenting blog πŸ˜‰

    • You’re so right, Deborah. I’ve been commenting on only a couple of blogs that I read regularly, mostly because I enjoy the interaction, but also keeping in mind that bloggers tend to reciprocate. I’ve been meaning to branch out more by subscribing to more blogs and commenting more, but I want to make sure I’m actually reading blogs because they’re read-worthy and not in the interest of marketing myself.

      Thanks for reading and for the encouragement!

  4. I try to read every post, sometimes though, all I want to do is browse, know what I mean?
    I’m in the same place you are with my blog. I guess mine is just a glorified public diary, but I like getting feedback on my thoughts too. I have a small following – I mean really small… 7 I think? But hey – that’s okay πŸ™‚ the more I read other blogs the more I’m able to comment, the more I’m able to get myself out there too.

    Oh by the way – nothing wrong with another parenting blog.
    Mine’s primarily about my relationship with CJ, but the rest of it is just what’s going on that day – it’s kinda nice to not have a list of pre-written posts that automatically get posted at 12:01 am EST. While these are essential for a daily blog, it does take a bit out of the “personalness” – I can see that it’s not a word but oh well, neither is snarfley but I use that all the time.

    Okay off on a tangent (who, me??)
    I’m glad you’re here and I’m glad to have someone else to chat with about raising an autistic kiddo, the hard times, and the most rewarding times…

    • I definitely know what you mean, Emma. I usually feel somewhat guilty if I scan over a post, but it’s better than not reading it at all. I just usually don’t comment if I haven’t read it thoroughly.

      Language evolves. If a made up word means something to someone, it’s pretty much a word. I like “snarfley.” It reminds me of Snarf from the Thundercats.

      Finding other bloggers who are at the same stage as me is fun. I sort of look at it as a cohort or class of freshman writers. I guess that makes us blogmates. πŸ™‚

      Best of luck to you in your blog! I’ll be sure to visit again and leave some more comments.

  5. Yes, criticism is always a risk when you put yourself out there. Personally, I got slammed enough online when I was writing about gaming, so I don’t really think about it anymore. I’m more discouraged by things people say in person. But that’s another issue for another day.

    Good post.

    • Thanks, Jeff! I’m sure you got flamed on a regular basis. Video game nerds tend to lash out when their comments are anonymous. I’m not too worried about it. I realize that you can’t please all of the people all of the time. So far, I haven’t really voiced any strong opinions. I’m sure I’ll catch some criticism once I do, assuming I find more readers. And I think I have a promising start. πŸ™‚

  6. Mmm… reading this put me in mind of a quote from P.S. I Love You…
    “All I know is, if you don’t figure out this something, you’ll just stay ordinary, and it doesn’t matter if its a work of art or a taco, or a pair of socks! Just create something… new, and there it is, and its you, out in the world, out side of you and you can look at it, or hear it, or read it, or feel it… and you know a little more about… you. A little bit more than anyone else does…”
    πŸ™‚ The blog is important to you, and so it IS important. With or without anyone else’s thoughts, you made something that stands alone in time and space, and therefore you have made an impression on the world around you, be it in cyberspace or in the minds of those who read it.
    I, for one, appreciate being able to read the internal frustrations and realizations of another human being. It seems that, especially anymore, people are so distant from one another… and it makes us feel so isolated and confused, tearing away at our self-esteem, our confidence in our thoughts. Exposing the workings of your mind takes personal strength, and in exercising that you also give a foothold to your readers in their own lives. You give them something to compare to, and feel united in; thought.
    So, rock the keyboard ’til the cows come home, Chris. πŸ™‚ You’re making my day at least.

    • What a great comment! Thanks for your take on it. I like what you said about giving others a foothold; something to compare to. Community and personal growth has a lot to do with perspective.

      Thanks for the encouragement! I enjoy writing for the sake of expressing myself, but it also means a lot to get thoughtful, insightful comments like this one! πŸ™‚

  7. Crush It! is a pretty good read, but is your goal to make money off your blog. I mean that was Gary’s goal all along……to sell out and because of this I think many of us read blogs now with one eye closed.

Reply away!

