… from the bungalow

Children Are Special: Let’s kick each other

11 Comments

It’s rarely quiet when you have three young boys in the house. You never really learn to like it, but you start to get used to it. It’s kind of like the nerve-grating din of a construction crew, only more obnoxious. So when it does get quiet, you assume that either something’s wrong or something’s about to go down.

Dino sacrifice

Don't make me feed you to the dinosaur.

This morning we heard a brief silence followed by increasingly animal-like guttural sounds coming from the living room. Karin asked them what they were doing. Another brief silence followed by more giggling and animal sounds. So I went in to see what was going on before the inevitable breakdown. (Here’s what the typical progression looks like: have stupid idea, act on stupid idea, get more and more wild because it’s fun, take it too far and hurt someone, hurt back in retaliation, cry and tattle, defend yourself with statement that begins with “well, he…”)

So I walk in to find Thing One and Thing Two sitting on the floor, taking turns kicking each other in the chest. They’re not doing it hard (yet) so I watch for a few seconds in silence. I can tell it’s about to turn ugly, so I say in my stern dad voice, “WHAT are you doing?” followed by all the usual stuff you say to kids: keep your body parts to yourself, etc. Do you understand?

I’m clearly delusional in my perceived parental effectiveness because I walked away with some sense of satisfaction thinking, “maybe they actually heard me this time…” Naturally, not an hour later, they’re at it again, which earns each of them a time-out, and me a dumb dad badge. (Silly rabbit, children are special.)

Why is it that my one “special needs” kid is often the least troublesome? *shrug*

Parenting from the bungalow,

~ Chris

P.S. Don’t forget to Like From the Bungalow on Facebook! 🙂

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

11 thoughts on “Children Are Special: Let’s kick each other

  1. I only have one little guy, but reading this made me giggle and wonder, “What was it like for my mom, trying to manage the four of us by herself?” (I hope that question is one that’s left strictly to my imagination!)

    I shared this with my S.O., who was equally amused. Thanks! 😀

  2. Our kids are the bestest.

  3. Yeah, but that’s not delusional. Any respite with kids will be brief, by definition. You used your stern dad voice, and it worked, at the time. That’s really the best that one can ask for, in my opinion. And with three boys..? I think you’re too hard on yourself.

    Good post.

  4. Oh the stories I could share! I think parenting (like all things in life) is learn and improve as you go. Parenting three boys is no easy task.

  5. xD I can almost remember things like that… being told not to do something and pouting a little and being upset… and then later it’s not even in mind at all, like I was never told. Until the yelling comes again. 😛 Generally ending up with a boo-boo to nurse was the solution to learning NOT to do stupid things.

    • True. I’m trying to find the right balance of preventing them from hurting each other or themselves and allowing for natural consequences. I can’t see letting them hurting each other if I can prevent it (and that’s what was about to happen). Hurting themselves is a little different. A kid isn’t going to internalize the lesson if someone else got hurt. Empathy’s tricky. Self-preservation is more obvious. 😉

  6. Pingback: Striking a Balance | … from the bungalow

Reply away!

