… from the bungalow

Welcome to the Bungalow!

6 Comments

Welcome, and thank you for finding me!

I’ve been thinking for some time now that I’d like to start a blog. I’ve been reading more blogs lately, and I figured putting language to my thoughts for the purpose of sharing them with others would be an easy way to get some creativity flowing.

Without having any idea what I would call my blog (and I still don’t know at the time of this writing), I decided it would be more practical to just start writing and come up with a name later. But then, what to write about?

So I posed to my friends a question: I’m thinking of starting a blog–What are the things you enjoy about my Facebook status updates? Their suggestions were to write from the heart like I do. (Thank you for all the encouragement!) Also among the responses were keywords and phrases like honesty, silly little beautiful moments in day-to-day life, parenting, relationships, etc. But basically, write with the intent to express myself, and others will find me.

And so here we are.

My primary purpose in this blog is to connect minds and hearts through stories, ideas, and shared experiences. No lectures. No preaching. No soap-boxing. Well, very little soap-boxing…

And while I do enjoy the occasional snarkiness, I do not believe in cutting down others to boost myself up. Also, this is a personal blog, and I do have opinions. If I say something you don’t like or agree with, please don’t take it personally.

Finally, I leave you with introductions. (I figure if you’ve made it this far, you might want to know a bit about who I am.) My name is Chris. Hello! I have two biological sons and one “step-son” (although his mom–my amazing new partner in this life–and I are not yet married). I am divorced (officially for one year now) and get along with my ex-wife very well as a co-parent. I have two career paths, but only one job. I drive a tiny car.

And so, in the interest of keeping this from turning into a mini-autobiography and risk turning away would-be readers (and so as not to use up too many ideas for future topics), I leave you with this:

Every person with whom you interact in this life, no matter how seemingly insignificant the interaction, is one with whom you have initiated a relationship. I value my relationships. Ergo, I value you and the time you’ve taken to read this, my maiden voyage blog post. I humbly thank you.

It’s my hope that you’ll come to expect certain things from this blog: honesty, humor, thoughtful introspection, general observations, etc. If you don’t like that sort of thing, this simply may not be for you, and I bid you good day. To the rest of you, welcome aboard!

Much love and light to you, my friends (existing and new).

~Chris

Light String

Author: Chris

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, college enrollment administrator, and hippie-nerd.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to the Bungalow!

  1. Nice job, love. Can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  2. How wonderful this is my friend… an inspiration to and of thought.

  3. Delighted to have found this blog ( thank you freshly pressed ) I feel it is important. I shall follow with great interest… Love and peace. Helen

Reply away!

