… from the bungalow

Donna Day 2013: Hair Grows Back

24 Comments

Donna looking to side

Friends, I’ve been working on this project for a long time, and today is the day it sees light. I wish I had more energy right now to write about Donna, the amazing little girl to whom this video is dedicated, but I think I’ll let the video do the talking. (It’s now after 5 a.m. I’ve been up all night and I have to leave for work in 2 hours.) If you’re not sure who Donna is, or want to catch up on my previous post about her (which was Freshly Pressed, I might add) and why Karin and I shaved our heads, please read this.

Enjoy!

From Donna’s Mama: The purpose of the Donna Day campaign is to raise $ for our head shaving event on Saturday, March 30 in Chicago.  It is our second event.  Last year’s started with a goal of $20K and we raised $79K!  This year we have many fewer heads to shave and have set a goal of $30K.  Our oldest shavee is 89 years old and she is doing it with her daughter, a returning shavee for us.  WOW!

Please visit this link to donate to the team using the GREEN donate button. Any amount would be awesome. Seriously. Many people chipping in $5 and $10 makes a HUGE difference. If you want to shave your head, that is so cool, too, and there is still time! We can raise a lot of $ in 30 days!

Chris

Author: Christopher Tucker

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, enrollment services associate, hippie-nerd.

24 thoughts on “Donna Day 2013: Hair Grows Back

  1. I LOVE IT. I LOVE IT. I LOVE IT! You are amazing, husband. <3

  2. That was really great! :P I think you look better in a beard. Liked the handle-bar mustache that was cute. Caught you wearing Star Wars two days in a row. Not many men can wear purkle but you pull it off nicely. Who was that date you held up for sometime in June? Went to fast to catch! What an awesome cause, cheers!

    • Thanks, Amanda. Guilty as charged! I noticed that I wore the same shirt two days in a row, but I allowed it to stay. Going for honesty here. I don’t always smile, either.

      That date was the day I lost my grandmother to ovarian cancer, and why I looked miserable in the next couple of photos.

  3. I watched your video (and loved it!) and read your post from last year. Thank you for your words. They are a perfect and eloquent description of how I was (and I assume many others were) effected by MTM & Donna’s story, gained perspective through the vicarious traumatization of reading MTM’s words, and became impassioned to fight for a cause and to kick cancer’s ass. Every time I’ve tried to share my experience of reading Donna’s story and how much it changed me, I get lost in my words, choke up, and effectively screw up a chance to communicate something very powerful. So truly, thank you for your words. I will be sharing them. :)

    I will be shaving my head on Team Donna’s Good Things this year, and I could not be prouder to raise funds and awareness for this amazing cause ($1500 so far — woohoo!). Also, I remember reading about your wife’s experience with Donna’s story and how you decided to have a Donna dance at your wedding. I don’t remember when or where I read her words, but I tell that story, because it shows just how much Donna’s story will stick with anyone who reads it and how it changes lives.

    So my thanks, to you and your wife, for your words. :)

    • Wow. So much to love about this comment. So glad you’re participating as a shavee this year! We plan to be there as volunteers, so be sure to say hello.

      Thanks for your kind words about the post and the video. It is so hard to read her story, isn’t it? I love that you remembered the Donna Dance! Thanks for reading and commenting, and we’ll see you at the end of the month. :)

  4. This was amazing!!!! Kudos to you and your lovely wife. And Happy Donna Day!

  5. Great video! BTW, your hair looks fantastic all loose and wavy!

  6. very nice chris :)
    is it just me, or did you keep morphing into brendan frazier?

  7. Pingback: I’m pretty much a selfish asshole. | The Mother Freakin' Princess (The MFP)

  8. Great post! Loved watching your hair grow back!

  9. Nicely done! Did S and F like it?

  10. Pingback: Donna Day 2013: Bloggers Unite | Mary Tyler Mom

  11. Great retrospective done for a great cause. Wow.
    You should be very proud.

  12. Pingback: Chicago, Round Two: A St. Baldrick’s Post | ... from the bungalow

  13. Pingback: 2014 Donna Day: On loss, regret, and taking action | ... from the bungalow

  14. Pingback: Everything is Awesome: A St. Baldrick’s Team | ... from the bungalow

Reply away!

