… from the bungalow

Blissfully Bald: Why my wife and I decided to shave our heads

191 Comments

This post is now available as a podcast! You may either download the file from archive.org or listen below.

Karin and Chris at the Dali MuseumMany of us have a cause that we connect with; something we can really get behind and champion. Now I’m no champion, but I’ve recently added an incredibly worthy cause to my list thanks to one incredibly brave little girl and her courageous parents. More on that in a moment.

We all know that language is powerful. It’s why we read the blogs we love and love the blogs we write. The main function of this blog is to connect hearts and minds by sharing my experiences with honesty and hopefulness. My mission is simple: equality. And one of the things that falls under the category of equality is access. I feel strongly about equal access to education/higher education, for example. But there’s one aspect of life to which access is sometimes taken for granted.

Living.

Most of us don’t have to struggle daily just to stay alive. We might struggle to pay bills or struggle to understand our children/partners/coworkers/neighbors/you-name-its. More likely, we’re “struggling” to get through a Monday morning or complaining about having enough coffee to get us through said morning. And our kids? If they’re lucky, they complain about which flavor of ice cream you bought or how they only got 30 minutes of Nintendo DS time.

Thankfully, I’ve never had to make decisions month-by-month or day-by-day that would dictate whether or not I’d live, for how long, and at what cost. Even more thankfully, I’ve never had to make those decisions about one of my children.

But Mary Tyler Mom has. Sadly, so have countless other parents. According to St. Baldrick’s Foundation, more than 160,000 children are diagnosed with cancer worldwide each year (that’s about one every 3.5 minutes), and one in five children diagnosed with cancer in the U.S. will not survive. But as sad and angry as that makes me, this post isn’t about numbers, and it isn’t about death.

This post is about hope. It’s about life. It’s about gratitude.

Karin read Donna’s Cancer Story as it was published in series last September to recognize Childhood Cancer Awareness Month, and it changed her life. (I’m hoping she’ll write a post about that herself.) I, on the other hand, hesitated. I had read so many powerful statements by folks who had read it, and honestly, it scared me. I liken it to the feeling I had before my ex-wife and I decided to try to have children. Change, even positive change, is stressful, and I knew this story would change me.

One day I decided to start reading Donna’s Cancer Story. I was in the right head space to do it, and I was going to read as many as I could straight through. BUZZ! Wrong. I got three posts in and already I was starting to feel traumatized. I took a break that lasted a few months. In the meantime, Karin and I got married and held a “Donna dance” at our wedding reception in lieu of a dollar dance, and raised about $130 from our very small, very generous group of friends. And it felt good. It felt right. Guests dropped their donations into a box and we danced to Katy Perry’s “Firework” (You MTM lovers will know why) and it was glorious. That money will go directly to Donna’s Good Things.

Donna dance at Chris & Karin's wedding

We rocked out to Firework as folks dropped bills (U.S. and Canadian), half-used Starbucks gift cards, and whatever else they had into a donations box. I danced with my 6-year-old while Karin wiped away tears and greeted dancers. Meg pulled up her pants. (She's actually a sexy dancin' machine.)

So when we read about the Donna’s Good Things/St. Baldrick’s event in Chicago to raise funds for childhood cancer research (more on that at the end!), we said, “Let’s do this!” Sure, we could get involved in something more local, but this is for Donna. For Karin–and for me, knowing how Donna’s story had affected Karin–that was enough. Of course, it didn’t hurt that we already have amazing friends in Chicago (Jamie and JvG) who have extended an open invitation to stay with them, AND that Mary Tyler Mom will be there, along with Katy of I Want a Dumpster Baby and Nikki of Moms Who Drink and Swear! Gah! No brainer!

But then–THEN–knowing that the reason I was getting involved in this was already a good one, but wanting to know full well the impact of Donna’s story, I finished it this past weekend. In two days. Actually, I read the last 18 posts in the span of two hours, only taking breaks to clear my head (literally and figuratively) with tissues and my Rubik’s Cube (respectively). Talk about vicarious traumatization. There was wailing and gnashing of teeth. It wasn’t pretty, folks.

That weekend, I spent more time with my kids. I won’t pretend that it was all sunshine and daisies all day long, but I was more patient with them, more present with them, and more appreciative of them than usual. I spent the better part of an hour at dinner time Sunday night pushing through a would-be battle of wits with my middle son over his demanding an apple and bargaining with me such terms as, “If you would just give me an apple, I would stop crying!” (BTW, it wasn’t about the apple. He can eat apples all day long if he wants. It was the way he went about demanding it and spiraling into a tantrum over it. Principle.)

I was hungry and irritated, but I was thankful. So very thankful. My son is here–right here with me–alive and healthy to be carrying on about his demands. What would MTM give to have this moment with Donna?, I thought. I also gave my step-son some much-needed bedtime cuddles from Daddy (“Daddy,” he called me, wow!), and for a little while, the near-constant worries associated with raising a son with special needs (my oldest) seemed insignificant.

Having finished Donna’s story Sunday night (Monday, really, about 2:30 a.m.), I called off of work Monday and spent one more full day with my kids. Call it a mental health day. Again, not all fun. But good. More present. Thankful. We went to the library. We played Wii Sports. We watched Toy Story 3 (again). We ate pizza and apples and carrots in ranch. After books, I sang them a goodnight song (“Godspeed”). And I was grateful for every minute of it.

My kids at the library

What is it with my kids and keeping their coats on indoors?

Donna has given me a gift. Donna–through the well-crafted and very brave words of her mom and dad–has given me perspective, has shown me what it means to demonstrate grace in the face of adversity, and has enriched my understanding of truly living.

And so it is with utmost gratitude that Karin and I participate in the Donna’s Good Things/St. Baldrick’s fundraising event! We formed a husband and wife team called Blissfully Bald to raise funds for St. Baldrick’s Foundation in honor of Donna by having our heads shaved. That’s right! Bald. Hairless. Nothin’ on top. And blissfully so! Donna’s Good Things wants to will raise $20,000.00 for childhood cancer research before March 24th. We set our goal low ($1,000) just so we’d be sure to reach it, but we’re hoping expecting to raise much more than that! Karin and I are paying it forward. Will you help us exceed our goal?

To pull from Mary Tyler Mom’s vocabulary, choose hope, and may you live until you die.

Well, what are you waiting for?

Click here to donate!

Join the conversation on Facebook and Twitter.

Author: Christopher Tucker

A dad with a self-evaluation complex. Also a music therapist, enrollment services associate, hippie-nerd.

191 thoughts on “Blissfully Bald: Why my wife and I decided to shave our heads

  1. Chris – You are a marvelous, passionate writer. Thank you so much for writing this and sharing your story and Donna’s. I have tears in my eyes just from the passion of your post. Keep making a difference. Lynne

    • Thank you, Lynne! It’s such a great compliment coming from you. I feel embarrassed every time you compliment my writing, but it’s happened more than once now so I guess I’d better start getting used to it. It’s amazing to me how the most seemingly random encounters can lead to such great new friendships. (No coincidences!) Thanks for commenting, and thanks for your donation!

  2. Shared this on Twitter, Facebook and donated to this *awesome* cause. Good on you both. Oh, and beautifully written as well!

  3. Beautiful, baby. I am so proud to call you my husband. I love you.

  4. such good stuff. Beautiful words about a beautiful subject. But you guys know how I feel. I hope you raise so much money, but in addition, all the hearts you touch by sharing this is such a gift. xoxo

  5. Chris, this is a beautiful post and not to worry, it’s the perfect length! I couldn’t take Donna’s story in a daily dose so I, too, compressed it into two days after the first couple of posts. Your eloquent retelling of what that was like for you made me cry all over again. In a good way. And then the “winter coats” photo brought me back from the edge … perfect. Truly.

    Much, much love to you and Karin.

    • Thanks, V! A “perfect” post? I’m flattered. Didn’t it just destroy you to sit and read through it all in two days? So many intense emotions in quick succession. Very intense.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  6. Perfectly done. I’m so impressed with you and Karin for stepping up in such a demonstrative way. Words are easy. You’ve chosen action.

    • Thanks, Lisha! Again with the “perfect”? You all are going to inflate my ego. ;)

      All this taking action business is incredibly empowering. I think I’m getting more out of it emotionally than I’m putting in effort-wise. It’s also kind of a big step for me in that I’m historically more of a talker than a doer.

  7. Bahh….I can understand your trauma in reading MTM’s posts – it traumatized me as well, in a painfully good way. I, like many, feel like I know MTM to an extent, after reading the incredibly personal series about their journey. I too, feel changed by Donna…I wouldn’t give up the worst day with any of the ten kids in my home. I feel so lucky to have each moment with all of them. Your post was beautiful, much like you and Karin’s hearts…and you’ve started me blubbering like a ninny. Thank you

    • Thank YOU… for reading and making those connections. Oh, and you have TEN kids in your home? You’re either crazy or a saint. I’m guessing it’s more the latter.

  8. If every single person in this world decided to be passionate to help an individual or a cause, the way you have done here, imagine what the world would be like?

    You have not only brought awareness to Donna’s story and to childhood cancer, you have caused people to stop and think. Today someone has realized, through your post, that ONE PERSON truly can make a difference.

    I am grateful.

    • Thank you, Rachel. I can’t even tell you how many hours have gone into this post. From reading Donna’s Cancer Story to signing up as a shavee to drafting the post, revising, editing, finding pictures, etc. But I would do it again and more. Yes, I’m one person, but this is the culmination of many players and influences. I feel blessed to be a part of it.

  9. Wow, Chris! This is beautiful and inspiring. It’s so amazing that you and Karin are doing this and bringing awareness to such a great cause. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

  10. Tremendous post about an amazing cause. Kudos for your selfless undertaking. Much success on your journey. Sounds like you are already off to a great start.

    • Thanks, JJ! To be fair, it’s not entirely selfless. No good deed goes unrewarded. My sense of connectedness and joy is through the roof right now.

  11. GREAT post!! MTM is a friend and I have had the privilege of assisting at a couple of Donna’s Good Things New Years Eve parties …. You are in good hands!

    • Thanks, Doreen! I’ve seen pictures of those parties. It looks like a good time! Karin and I are so looking forward to meeting MTM this March. I hope the volunteer photographer will get at least one shot of us NOT completely blubbering.

  12. Very inspiring! One person can make a difference, imagine a village!

  13. You guys rock.

  14. INCREDIBLE mission statement for your blog! Keep up the good work.

  15. Thanks for bringing this story to light. My brother has shaved his head for St. Baldrick’s before and I have been close to the struggle of several kids with cancer. It breaks my heart. Way to go.

  16. Good for you, most don’t do as much – emotional or physically!

  17. Oh my. You guys are awesome. Really. So glad I read this.

    Claire

    http://aphotoaday2012.com/

  18. This is awesome, and painfully good.
    I shaved my head when my mother had cancer in 2005. It seemed like the only thing I could do; my love, my words, my hopes, were not nearly physical or powerful enough. Shearing what ultimately felt like my entire identity seemed to be my only option. When I initially offered, she laughed it off and said that it’d be absurd. Then, when her hair began falling out, and the doctor recommended she do it, she asked me if I really would. I told her to name the day, and when she did, I wrote “I <3 U" on the floor with the hair I shaved off and emailed it to her. She told me it gave her the confidence she needed, then shaved her own head hours later, with my father's help.
    All we can do is all we can do. If it comes from a place of love, it will always be enough. (And btw, my mom is alive and well now.)

    • Ariane, what a great story! Isn’t it funny how we connect our identity so closely with our appearance? I’ve never completely shaved my head before, and I wouldn’t do it without good reason, but this fundraising event has put me more in a position of, “Of course. Why wouldn’t I do it?”

      I love that your actions helped give your mom the confidence she needed to move forward. And you’re so right about our actions coming from a place of love. That’s what it’s all about. Thanks for sharing your story.

  19. Thanks for making me aware of Donna’s story. There are days when my own little girl can be a handful and drives me crazy. After reading what Mary Tyler Mom and Dad have been through, I now feel that I should stop taking little moments with my daughter for granted. I’ll make sure to say thanks to the Lord for every time that she interrupts me at work, nags me to help with Barbie or makes me stay late at night to watch Shawn the Sheep because I know I am with her. Kudos to your efforts and good luck!

    • Yes, as MTM said, it’s good when these stories help provide moments of clarity for others. I’m thankful for my own moments of clarity, and for the moments I’m aiding in. Thank you!

  20. Well said in the start:”This post is about hope. It’s about life. It’s about gratitude.”
    Thanks much for sharing it with us.

  21. I share the same sentiment. Mom died from lung cancer and from then on victims of the disease became very dear to my hearts. In our city (Davao City, Philippines) we have Kids of Hope, a shelter home for children with cancer. I am planning to volunteer there.

  22. This is so beautiful and so very moving Chris. Literally and figuratively to call attention to childhood cancer is a huge gift. I will donate once I am back in LA and spread te word. I already tweeted it but will also share via Facebook. Thank you for sharing Donna with us and reminding all of us that our children are alive and that’s a massive gift to remember.

    • Thank you, Shannon! And thank you for sharing and donating. You and so many others are truly making this mynewfavoriteday. I mean that sincerely. March 24 is going to be so mega awesome my head might explode.

  23. I.ll have to give the donation to http://www.barncancerfonden.se/ since I live in Sweden that was the easiest way,
    They have been fighting child cancer for a long time.
    Thank you for this and the best of luck. I saw you are already past your goal so lets hope for x 10
    Perfect love

    • Thank you! Yes, let’s hope for 10x the money we’ve already raised! I wish you continued success in making this world a better place. One love.

      • I really like what you’re doing. my best friend growing up had a ruff time fighting cancer but pulled through. Now my neighbours little daughter. it just brakes my heart. But somehow all the beutiful people doing good in this world gives me hope.
        Like small drops they will build a river of help and positivity.
        Keep it up raindrops

  24. What I find rather sad is how Freshly Pressed posts usually have much more traffic and a far greater response. It’s almost like people are allergic to the thought of selflessness and compassion. I guess if you’d written utter nonsense, the response would have been at least 200 comments strong. Good job and good luck :)

    • No worries, Crazy Lady! I’ve had to try to keep up with moderating all of the comments today. I’m thankful for all the attention this is getting! Thanks for your comment.

  25. Maybe this makes me weird, but I actually find women with shaved heads to be quite attractive.

    Ah, sorry, gotta keep on topic. That’s fantastic!

    • Not weird at all, Jbot. Most people in our society will surely scoff at the idea of a woman with an intentionally shaved head. Karin has thought about it in the past, and this gave her the perfect reason to give it a try. We feel really blessed to be a part of something so positive.

  26. Important message, cause and passion in your blog. I have recommended your blog to many of my blog-world friends. I have shared it through fb. Now I’m heading off to donate…

  27. Oh, so nice of you guys!
    Congratulations for your thoughts…the world needs more people like you!

  28. I just read the first two posts of Donna’s story (after reading your blog) and I don’t know how you read all of them… I cant even bring myself to go further… To have had to live through it must have been heartbreaking for Mary Tyler Mom… Wow! Brave.
    Awesome post… May the donations come in fast and strong!

    • I know, right?! It’s difficult. But so worth it. Even if you don’t read the entire story, read the follow-up post about hope and how you can help. It won’t ruin the rest of the story if you decide to go back. Thanks for reading!

  29. One word: PROFOUND!!!!!!

  30. Wow! You are challenging me with this post. You allowed yourself to be touched to action. Thanks for the example. All the best to you and Karin.

  31. I was truly moved by your post. I have lost several people I love to cancer and one to a truly horrific accident. The one that had the accident had a blog just like Mary Tyler Mom, but it was his wife and family chronicaling his journey. I cried every day I read a post and holed myself away when I read the final post of his passing. You prove once again how just one or two people can have such an impact on the world. God Bless you both!

    • Thank you, Kat! I’m sorry you’ve lost loved ones so tragically. Connecting with others this way is both saddening and empowering. But that’s why we’re here; making connections. Thanks for reading and for your thoughtful comment.

  32. Best wishes, and thanks for sharing this story!

  33. My daughter was diagnosed with cancer when she was 16. She lost all her hair permanently as a result of all the chemo and radiation. On her wedding day, she and her husband were bald. They had a head shaving cancer fund raiser after the wedding dinner – the best man, one of her bridesmaids, fathers of the bride and groom, and a number of other guests all had their heads shaved.
    My daughter chooses not to wear a wig all the time, and that makes her a target of many thoughtless, and sometimes cruel stares and remarks. By shaving your heads, you will, for a brief time walk in the shoes of those who are different looking.

  34. I’m very excited to be featured on Freshly Pressed! Please know that I plan to reply to all of your comments as soon as I get a chance. Your stories are touching! Can’t wait to read more!

  35. Beautiful. This story really hit home as I’d recently shaved my head for someone I care about who was diagnosed with cancer. Thank you for sharing and doing this :)

  36. Chris! SOOOO happy to see this post Freshly Pressed!! Made my morning :)

  37. Very inspiring – thanks for sharing :)

  38. You’re right. As parents, it’s hard to not get caught up in the day-to-day ugliness of wants and tantrums, but in the end, we have to remember that even that is a gift. Beautiful post!

  39. I am a freelance writer, and I have two clients who allow me the privilege of telling the stories of cancer survivors. Just yesterday, I had an interview with a woman whose 5-year-old daughter was diagnosed with leukemia. It broke my heart to hear of her ordeal, yet it was so inspirational to learn of her resilience. Her daughter is now in remission, but it was a crazy struggle, and the mom constantly worries about her.

    Moms of perfectly healthy children worry constantly, so I can’t imagine how much more profound this constant ache would be!

    As the mom of a 9- and 12-year old, I definitely find myself applying all of these situations to my own family. But I do know that I’m a better mommy because of these stories, because of your story, because of Donna’s story.

    Thank you for writing such a lovely, moving post.

  40. I am so glad that I clicked on this post! I often try to give to others who inspire me and now I have a cause this morning! Thank you!
    It sounds like it wasn’t easy to digest the cancer stories, but it sure seems like you are absoluetly oozing gratitude for your blessings and deep compassion for those enduring the struggles.

    Namaste, Blessings, Thank you and I can’t wait to hear about how Donna reaches her goal!
    Currie

  41. Best Freshly Pressed in a long time. Great post and good luck.

  42. very inspiring and great story.

    TechSmartLife

  43. Wow, this really brought tears to my eyes, it is amazing to see people try and make a difference, even though you expected to make more money, it’s the thought and dedication you put into it that is worthwhile. I wish you and your wife the best. Thanks for sharing :-)

  44. You and your wife are very inspiring. This post rang very true and touching form me. A family member of mine has a 4 year old son that was just diagnosed with Leukemia. Moments, both challenging and blissful are precious. Thank you for the reminder.

  45. we struggle with racism, depravity, bullying and institutional harrassment e.t.c. But its not the same as struggling with the thought that cancer will one day separate your loved ones from you.

  46. A huge THANK YOU from a cancer mom! My daughter had ALL, Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia and it is people like you that see a need and chose to fill it that touches hearts around the world. I know you don’t feel like a champion, but you are. A champion of hopes and dreams in a life filled with death, pain and anguish. A flicker of light in the dark can make all the difference in the world when going through something like this. Thank you so much! Check out another great organization at http://www.4kidswithcancer.org and our story at http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/faithjeppsen

    You are amazing! Thank you!

  47. Reblogged this on In All My Life… and commented:
    Today, I would like to share a post that I happened upon this morning. I not only want to encourage you to not only read the post but also to support the cause. God bless every single one of you. Thank you for taking the time to read a shared blog.

  48. in the daily rush of life, it can be hard to keep perspective (or be open to others!). really inspiring! something we can all learn from, thanks

  49. How wonderful! So glad I found this. Check out mine. Similar idea I came up with. http://tifanikdavids.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/if-you-cant-feed-a-hundred-people-then-feed-just-one/

  50. Awesome post. Thank you for sharing.

    I am following your blog.

  51. As the first comment says, keep making a difference. Thank you for sharing this story.

  52. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss and commented:
    Shaving your heads bald is a remarkable thing to do and focusing on cancer! That is something that you don’t hear about, people pushing cancer awareness, so that others know it’s out there and you never know what your future holds!!!

  53. That is amazing, what a great thing you guys are doing. That really makes me happy that you guys are dedicated to such a great cause.

  54. Pingback: Sometimes today is the day (ponytails, pics, and giving) « Single Working Mom (SWM)

  55. God bless every single one of you

  56. I’m REALLY liking this blog. Which means, I like you! I just started blogging on Dec 24th. It was my very own Christmas present to myself that just keeps on giving. I love your thoughts…

  57. This post goes straight to my heart and definitely makes me want to enjoy a bit more the time I spend with my 3 heathly boys.
    I will stop myself from reading Donna’s cancer story. It’s probably very selfish but knowing me, if I do, I will never be able to get over it, I will cry for days and nights. I admire your courage and commitment. This is just fantastic.
    Thank you very much for your amazing post. And thank you wordpress for choosing this post for freshly pressed.

  58. Simply fantastic, so many people are scared to even approach these kinds of issues for whatever reasons. All it needs is people like you to start the ball rolling and we see an avalanche of ideas for awareness, and a desire push the cause forward. Well done guys.

    Woof

  59. Anytime someone mentions “there are no good people in the world”. I will smile knowingly… because I know MANY GOOD PEOPLE ON WORDPRESS! Love your written words…

  60. What an amazingly wonderful story!

  61. Pingback: Donna « Illuminating from the Inside Out

  62. First of all, congrats on getting married! Second of all, congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Third of all, I’m so grateful for reading this post today…I paid it forward, blogging friend, and I also linked my post from today to this one so hopefully others will also contribute to this important cause. For all of us that have healthy children-we need to do this.

  63. Every now and then we stumble onto something that makes us smile, cry, and feel… We discover something that makes us appreciate something we’ve been missing, and that is how I feel about this post. Thanks for writing this & sharing this story.

  64. For four years I battled a disease that did it’s best to take my life, but I won. I can’t even imagine how this little girl is coping and staying strong. She is my hero and I will do everything within my power to help her win her battle. Thank you so very much for writing this!

    • Donna lost her battle 2 years ago.

    • Right. Unfortunately, Donna did not make it. Her story and the immeasurable good that is coming out of it are what prompted us to help raise money for St. Baldrick’s. I’m sorry to learn that you had struggled for your life, but glad that you made it through. Thanks for reading!

  65. Thank you for this post and for your amazing efforts! As a cancer survivor myself, I know how important it is to have a supportive community around you. Best wishes!

  66. “This post is about hope. It’s about life. It’s about gratitude.” Your story is an inspiration. I wish and pray for you and your family’s good health, happiness , peace…There is indeed hope and it comes in so many ways…Stay blessed.

  67. As a cancer survivor, I appreciate what you’ve done! Thanks!

  68. That was amazing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, words and world with us.

  69. Beautiful story. Beautiful post. Wonderful job :)

  70. nice read…thank you.

  71. Thank you for introducing us to MTM and Donna. I look forward to reading their full story when I’m done with this note. I used to work at a cancer non-profit and every day was excruciating and pure elation – unfortunately not always for the same people. Thank you for bringing attention to their cause and to St. Baldrick’s!

  72. This is a beautiful post.
    Sometimes, I wonder if it’s for stories and more if I should enter cancer research. I’m still on the threshold line – it’s never black and white. Maybe something else will have a profound impact on cancer.

    On a related note, I’d suggest reading “The Emperor of All Maladies” by Sidhartha Mukhejee if you haven’t already.
    It’s poignant, beautiful and terrible rolled into one,

  73. wow ! how inspiring ! it’s great to know people like you guys are out there trying to make a difference. Will def spread the word and try to help!

  74. Hello you both,
    I do not understand all of your blog for being German but concerning the small, PLEASE, there is a thing called B17 / Laetrile / Amygdalin which is origine of the stones of apricots (and others) – Blueacid, but in concentration not fatal. This is just a comment from a privat person, but perhaps could be of help to regard – we made good experinces with these apricot stones already with two other persons which recovered very well on short time. If you do not know anything yet about it, just research on your own on wiki and others…
    Wishing you and the family with the girl a lot of luck and success.
    Antje

  75. Pingback: Today I cried « Rasta Teacher

  76. Thank you for this post and leading me to Donna’s story. I was utterly touched and inspired and have since shared both blogs with friends and family. I suffer from a chronic illness and so seeing people out there committed and making a difference is all the more heartwarming. It’s nice to be reminded of such brilliance in the world and of those who do good. Keep it up!

  77. Shaving your head is like getting a new life briefly. It’s my stress reliever.

  78. Really beautiful, you deserve to be freshly pressed. Keep it coming, I will be reading.

  79. cool go for it and pls post your videos and photos!! :)

  80. Chris, both you and your wife are inspirational! I love this post and the way it was written :)

    Something you said at the beginning compels me to ask if you would be willing to participate in a post that I’m working on about why we blog. I’ve asked several bloggers if they would give me a 3-5 sentence response (really could be shorter or longer) to the question: Why do you blog? I’d quote you and put a link to your blog. Would you be willing to be one of my quotes? If so, you can either reply right here or send me an email at soojung.23@hotmail.com.

    Thanks so much and keep up the amazing work!
    – Cafe

  81. Amazing! standing ovation for you both! glad to know people like you are popping up in numbers!!!! (:

  82. As mother ithink ican feel the pain .well writen

    • I am very proud of you both! You rarely see couples that join together for a purpose! I commend you both! and for a great cause! We must really do our jobs of getting the word out there about our Health system and to really change our “WESTERN DIETS”…a lot of our fiets contribute to the diseases and ailments we get. My significant other and I have really been informing people about our health! http://www.naturalnews.com really helps people as far as nutrition and what we should eat in moderation etc. I will keep everyone in her family in my prayers.
      God Bless!

  83. This post was amazing. As a mom of a child who has just kicked cancer”s ass, I feel honored to have found your story and almost sobbed hearing about your Donna Dance! Thank you for keeping awareness going. 47 children were diagnosed with cancer today in the US, 7 have died today. We have to keep fighting. You are doing and amazing thing.xxx

  84. Well done for freshly pressed, i followed your link and read donnas story, i have got to the end and ive cried all the way through it, like you i stopped after a couple of entries and went back to it though almost immediately, well done to you both for assisting with mary tyler mums charities xx you have warm hearts

  85. This was just such a wonderful read, such a wonderful cause written by a very passionate writer. Thank you for bringing this story to many more reader’s attention :)

  86. Beautiful……………………..

  87. Your kids actually fight over APPLES? Wow! That’s amazing parenting. Mine fight against having to eat apples (or any other fruit or vegetable).

  88. You guys are such an inspiration!! Need more people like you in the world today…passionate, caring, and giving:) Beautiful writing!!! Looking forward to following your blog!!

  89. What you set out to do in this post, you accomplished. I’m all about hope, and if living to breathe another day, requires stopping to enjoy the small things in life, sign me up! Great read. Keep up the awesome writing.

  90. lovely story thanks for sharing it with us.

  91. You write very well. I enjoyed reading this and appreciate your honesty and passion.Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feelings, giving me a good dose of perspective, and giving me an opportunity to donate. I’ve always wanted to dontate, but never found the time (which sounds very silly when you thinkg about it). So thanks for getting my butt in gear and helping me do a little bit of good.
    Congrats to you and your wife on your marriage, and kudos for being wonderful parents and doing so much for such a worthy cause.

  92. Amazing story. Excellent words about a beautiful subject. Great to read. Thank you for introducing us to MTM and Donna. It’s about good things of life. Looking forward to following your blog!!
    Thank you!

  93. Funny you mention this! We just cut our little boys hair yesterday and its real short!

  94. Amazing story, thank you
    Americanmales.wordpress.com

  95. I just wanna say that you have found the secret of life, the elixir of happiness. How heartwarming your story is! I hope there were many people like you. Not only thanking God that your children are healthy, you also help other children, assume them as yours. Congratulations for your brave behavior and may God give this honor to many people. Amen!

  96. How inspirational and touching. Thank you for your story!

  97. Bravo to you for championing a worthy cause! . . . Thank you for sharing Donna’s story, and its important impact on you!

  98. Thanks for a lovely and inspiring story. Shaving your heads took courage and makes a strong statement about your commitment. I don’t think I’ll suggest it for grandkids though; I want them to find other ways to show their commitment.

  99. That’s one of the most noble initiatives out there.

    I’m Lebanese and I live in Lebanon. Cancer, a girl shaving her head…are very much taboo. But I did it anyways (I could not stand the young 7 year old girl looking at me saying “I wish I had your hair” and got women to donate their braids to the Children Cancer Center (St. Jude) in Beirut. I do not have cancer myself but many of my relatives did.

    I even had to face the stares, the finger pointing, the murmurs behind my back and the incessant phone calls to my family asking if something was wrong with me…I saw how people have no problem accepting life threatening cosmetic surgeries but have insurmountable difficulties accepting a girl with no hair.

    My grew back (I keep it extremely short) yet they still mistake me for a man!

    Story with pictures: http://wp.me/pUd8z-gM

  100. Thanks for sharing your reactions to Donna’s story and in doing so, hers, as well. I recently lost my brother to cancer, and I couldn’t possibly read her story myself at this point, I think. I commend your decision to honor and help her and applaud your stay-at-home-with-the-kids good health day. Peace.

  101. Thank you so much for writing this and sharing your story . I had inspired from your story.

  102. Pingback: On bald heads & being unending « The Monster in Your Closet

  103. Have you ever heard David Roth’s song “Manuel Garcia?” I cried when I first heard it. Read the lyrics and you can see why. http://www.davidrothmusic.com/lyricsmanuelgarcia.html
    Love your selfless act!

  104. Beautiful story. I applaud your courage to do something like that for something you believe it :)

  105. Chris,
    You are a fantastic writer and father! I’m so glad you shared this story. I, along with many other families, have a young family member struggling with cancer and it is devistating to watch and not know how you can help them. I’m hoping that many people will read this and see that they can help and make a difference by donating. Keep blogging, I look foward to reading more of what you have to say!

  106. I recently watched the movie Super 8. I felt that it perfectly captured the innocence and fun of childhood. I got to thinking about how precious those memories are and how every kid deserves a blissful childhood.Parents shouldn’t dump their kids in school, stay at work and just hope that the kids will turn out alright. All kids should to be taken out for ice cream, go bicycling, jump around in leaves, and go hunting for bugs!
    You sir, are a great dad and i salute you!

  107. Hi Chris… good for you guys!! I hope you raise your $20,000 and you COULD if EVERYONE gives their “drop”… I understand that completely! We are in the middle of a battle for my nephew’s life–he has a “childhood” cancer that’s usually caught before school age and he wasn’t diagnosed until he was almost 16. You can catch his story on my blog … suffice it to say I know how hard it is to fundraise and I added my “drop” to yours because if an army of people respond you’ll have your $20,000 in no time! All the best! <3

  108. This was moving man,I was happy to be able to experience yours and Donna’s story. I wish you the best. I once shaved my headwhen a friend had to shave hers (after being diagnosed with leukemia).
    Keep spreadin’ the love.

    -III
    http://www.CardinalPlaylists.com
    http://www.TheWandererfl.com

  109. Its nice to see some people arn’t just using their hearts to live. You are restoring faith in humanity, and you’re definately paying it forward by blogging about this. My whole class read your blog. I hope we can pay it forward too.

  110. So beautiful! Our world is blessed to have loving people like you.

  111. A very moving article! Not much more to say, but you’re awesome ;)

  112. I spend money on stupid things every day, you inspired me to spend it on something that matters. Thank you

  113. when my first daughter was about 2, she had a strange little bump on the back of her head kind of halfway between the back of her ear and her neck. it wasn’t soft, kind of hard, about the size of a marble cut in half. it didn’t move when we moved her scalp, so we knew it was fused with her skull. we took her to a doctor at children’s hospital of philadelphia, and they said they were 99% sure it was a dermoid cyst, or just a little calcium deposit, which is what it turned out to be, and a simple procedure scraped it away. but that’s not the story.

    the day i brought her to the hospital to be evaluated, i felt like an idiot. my kid had a bump on her head. however, because we were in such a prestigious place for kids, there were many other families there with far worse problems. i saw a father holding a girl of about 4 years who seemed like a rag doll. she had no voluntary muscle ability, couldn’t move at all except to breathe, blink, and move her eyes, or more like twitch them. there were kids who probably didn’t even know they were kids. it didn’t take long for me to feel like i should take my kid and her bump and get out of there because the doctors had far more important cases to deal with, and i might have been taking important time that could’ve been spent on someone who really needed it.

  114. Cancer sux and kid cancer sux ten times worse. Great post and for once I approve of WP’s choice for the FP page!
    Donating now.

  115. This is so beyond inspiring<3 Thank you for sharing this!!!

  116. This story brought me to tears, very inspiring. Sometimes you feel like you’re empty and having accomplished nothing to make the world a better place but being able to help and serve keep you hoping !

  117. Pingback: A Downer of a Post « Phenomenal Lass's Blog

  118. yes, would love to see the photos posted!

  119. Very inspirational. Thank you, for being wonderful caring humans.

  120. very amazing your a great writer

  121. Great stuff – HAD to click on here when I read about shaving your head. I did that – did it myself one night in the shower. It took a while with my underarm razor, actually – but it’s a big bold move: and it actually feels great. EXCELLENT cause, too :)

  122. Pingback: Should I Bare All? « Prawn And Quartered

  123. This post spoke to me more then you can imagine! I was very fortunate, the day after I read it, to be part of something amazing supporting childhood cancer. My friend owns a clothing store and teamed up with a local charity to donate makeovers to 11 Moms who have children with Cancer. It was one of the most beautiful days of my life. I think it was equally rewarding for the givers as it was for the recipients!!!! I’ll be posting a story on it later this week. In the meantime, I mentioned you in a post of mine…thought you might like to see!

    http://meganaronson.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/dear-wordpress-blogiverse-hello-and-congratulations/

  124. This is wonderful. I have so much respect for you. Also CONGRATS ON BEING FRESH PRESSED!

  125. Pingback: Paper Hearts & Concrete Angels « Connective Tissue Disorders: My Journey

  126. Pingback: Days 27 & 28 ~ The Veratile Blogger Award? Really? « thegratitudegarden

  127. Pingback: Senses & (the) sensibility (of those A/V guys) « The Monster in Your Closet

  128. Thank you for doing this. My second son Austin has battled cancer twice in his five years (two and a half times really, but that’s another story) and is proud to serve as one of five 2012 Ambassador Kids for the St Baldrick’s Foundation (you can find him on their homepage). He is also a two-time shavee, alongside his dad (5-time shavee) and big brother (3-time shavee). Not only does St Baldrick’s fund necessary and life-saving research, they give HOPE to parents and bring light to otherwise dark days. Here’s a link to my description of our 2010 St. Baldrick’s event, when Austin was still in treatment. http://krissygallagher.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/wow/
    As you can see from those closing paragraphs, what you are doing truly matters.

  129. Pingback: FtB Update: A week (or two) in review | … from the bungalow

  130. Pingback: A mother’s wish for Valentine’s Day « The Monster in Your Closet

  131. Pingback: New Beginnings: Happy Donna Day! | … from the bungalow

  132. Pingback: Love, Inspiration, Hope and Donna. | Pinwheels and Poppies

  133. Pingback: Shaved Heads for Childhood Cancer Research | [wiz duh m]

  134. Pingback: The rare and wondrous gift of lazing « The Monster in Your Closet

  135. Pingback: 12 days that amaze, Day 1: TMiYC | … from the bungalow

  136. Pingback: Choosing baldness. Choosing hope. « The Monster in Your Closet

  137. Pingback: The ripples of your actions. | Transitioning Mom

  138. Pingback: Hair today, bald tomorrow « The Monster in Your Closet

  139. Pingback: Blissfully bald indeed « The Monster in Your Closet

  140. Pingback: FTIAT: I will not sit idly by… « The Monster in Your Closet

  141. Pingback: Donna Day 2013: Hair Grows Back | ... from the bungalow

  142. Pingback: Chicago, Round Two: A St. Baldrick’s Post | ... from the bungalow

  143. Pingback: Everything is Awesome: A St. Baldrick’s Team | ... from the bungalow

Reply away!

